1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

B18C1 SWAP but no VTEC!

Discussion in 'ECU's, Electronics, and Tuning' started by pancake, Jul 6, 2015.

  1. pancake

    pancake New Member

    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2015
    I have a crx swapped with the full 2000 GSR setup. S80 trans, and the B18C1 engine. I got this project, from a friend who didn't fully continue on with it. Right now I'm replacing the head gasket, and while I do that I figure I might as well change a bunch of other stuff while I'm at it.

    The car is running on an LS ECU, so of course it won't have VTEC. The Vtec isn't wired up, the wire off of the 2nd cam just lays there. I'm getting a chipped p28 ECU, but what after that will I need to buy to get my Vtec wired? The harness that is in the car, doesn't have a vtec plug, I don't think.
     
  2. Briansol

    Briansol Admins Admin VIP

    Messages:
    21,455
    Likes Received:
    2,117
    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2007
    Location:
    CT
    how far did he get? was it ever running?

    is the crx a dx model? if so, you'll need to do an mpfi conversion, on top of upgrading the car to obd1 on the ecu side and downgrading the engine to obd1 to match
     
  3. pancake

    pancake New Member

    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2015
    No it's a 1991 si. it came with an obd0 to obd1 conversion for the ecu. and yes it was running, I just parked it to change the head. other than that it ran great, just no vtec.
     
  4. GSRCRXsi

    GSRCRXsi Super Moderator Moderator VIP

    Messages:
    9,623
    Likes Received:
    345
    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2002
    Location:
    MD
    you'll have to wire the VTEC wires up to the ECU directly, since there's no place on the CRX harness.
     
  5. pancake

    pancake New Member

    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2015
    I see.. is there a harness I can buy that has the vtec wires oNLY that go to the ecu?
     
  6. Briansol

    Briansol Admins Admin VIP

    Messages:
    21,455
    Likes Received:
    2,117
    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2007
    Location:
    CT
    it probably exists... but good luck finding it. you'd need to find a left hand drive b16 ef. so no uk, aussie, japan.... and i don't know where else they shipped!

    you can just run any old 16 ish gague wire and get a pinning tool from an electronics store.
     
  7. CAFROG

    CAFROG Honda Minion VIP

    Messages:
    4,417
    Likes Received:
    154
    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2009
    Location:
    NOR-CAL
    Get some VTEC plugs for sensor and switch (with pigtails). Then run electrical lines like B said. Also, see if the conversion harness has lines pigtailed off it already. Many harnesses have this but yours might not. It makes things like that a lot easier. If not, you can pin them into the chipped P28.
     
Verification:
Draft saved Draft deleted

Share This Page