1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

B20 95 hatch

Discussion in 'HYBRID -> EG-EK / DC' started by iluvemyegg, Mar 2, 2012.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. iluvemyegg

    iluvemyegg New Member

    Messages:
    156
    Likes Received:
    1
    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2012
    Location:
    corpus christi tx.
    i have a 95 that has a b16, the b16 went out and i want to do a b20 non vetc for the moment while i build my head. i know i can use my axels and my tranny. but what i dont want to have to do is put a diff. harness. and do i use the same motor mounts? can someone please help me.
    thank you
     
  2. iluvemyegg

    iluvemyegg New Member

    Messages:
    156
    Likes Received:
    1
    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2012
    Location:
    corpus christi tx.
    bump
     
  3. E_SolSi

    E_SolSi Member of the 20 nut club Moderator VIP

    Messages:
    30,103
    Likes Received:
    4,022
    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2002
    Location:
    CT
    yes same harness same mounts
     
  4. CAFROG

    CAFROG Honda Minion VIP

    Messages:
    4,443
    Likes Received:
    161
    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2009
    Location:
    NOR-CAL
    From my knowledge.....you also need to switch out the intake manifold for a B18B one b/c of hood clearance issues.

    Everything else should be fine. You may need to use some accessories from the old motor but everything should be straight forward.
     
  5. iluvemyegg

    iluvemyegg New Member

    Messages:
    156
    Likes Received:
    1
    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2012
    Location:
    corpus christi tx.
    thanks, im also wondering if i can use my dc header from my b16 untill im ready to do my vtec head swap, some people say it fits and some say no it does not fit. and also will my b16 intake manifold will work because i live in gay ass corpus christi and there are no ls motors lol
     
  6. iluvemyegg

    iluvemyegg New Member

    Messages:
    156
    Likes Received:
    1
    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2012
    Location:
    corpus christi tx.
  7. E_SolSi

    E_SolSi Member of the 20 nut club Moderator VIP

    Messages:
    30,103
    Likes Received:
    4,022
    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2002
    Location:
    CT
    maybe...
    they bolt up the same
    but the B16 header might not fit the taller B20
    some do some dont

    you can check the manufacturers site and see if they show different part numbers for the 2 different headers
    even then though its still a maybe
     
  8. dc4dude

    dc4dude Member

    Messages:
    904
    Likes Received:
    17
    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2008
    Location:
    chicago, il
    fits... the difference in height is in the intake... good luck with your build!!
     
  9. iluvemyegg

    iluvemyegg New Member

    Messages:
    156
    Likes Received:
    1
    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2012
    Location:
    corpus christi tx.
    thank you guys a bunch
     
  10. bluejcivic

    bluejcivic New Member

    Messages:
    169
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    May 1, 2007
    your b16a header "may" fit, you might just have to go without the tranny brace under the motor, the b16a intake manifold should work well on a b20. get some cams and a tune and that thing will be a torque monster. you might want to swap the ls fifth gear so its drivable on the highway.
     
  11. CAFROG

    CAFROG Honda Minion VIP

    Messages:
    4,443
    Likes Received:
    161
    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2009
    Location:
    NOR-CAL
    I used a DC B18B1 4-1 on my B16 when I changed motors......no issues at all. Plug and play to my cat.

    Now if that header was specific to the B16....you may have a fitment issue at the oil pan.
     
  12. iluvemyegg

    iluvemyegg New Member

    Messages:
    156
    Likes Received:
    1
    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2012
    Location:
    corpus christi tx.
    B16 intake mani does NOT fit and that sucks
     
  13. E_SolSi

    E_SolSi Member of the 20 nut club Moderator VIP

    Messages:
    30,103
    Likes Received:
    4,022
    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2002
    Location:
    CT
  14. CAFROG

    CAFROG Honda Minion VIP

    Messages:
    4,443
    Likes Received:
    161
    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2009
    Location:
    NOR-CAL
    That will work ^^

    But if funds are tight....a used OBD1 B18B IM could be found for $40-60
     
  15. iluvemyegg

    iluvemyegg New Member

    Messages:
    156
    Likes Received:
    1
    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2012
    Location:
    corpus christi tx.
    yea im gonna order one from hmotorsonline.com and i found a way to use my b16 headers. i just go to wrap the lower half of them
     
  16. iluvemyegg

    iluvemyegg New Member

    Messages:
    156
    Likes Received:
    1
    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2012
    Location:
    corpus christi tx.
    well the B16 mounts are not the same lol found that out the hard way. had to get a b18 mani lol it will all come together
     
  17. gatopardos

    gatopardos New Member

    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    May 8, 2012
    You will also have to cut the chassis to make room for the stick shift basis..
     
  18. CAFROG

    CAFROG Honda Minion VIP

    Messages:
    4,443
    Likes Received:
    161
    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2009
    Location:
    NOR-CAL
    Incorrect, sir. You just need to use any B-series shift linkage....fits in like no problem.
     
  19. iluvemyegg

    iluvemyegg New Member

    Messages:
    156
    Likes Received:
    1
    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2012
    Location:
    corpus christi tx.
    i was talking about the driverside motor mounts
     
  20. iluvemyegg

    iluvemyegg New Member

    Messages:
    156
    Likes Received:
    1
    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2012
    Location:
    corpus christi tx.
    i have got the B20 going but it idles between 1100 and 1300 rpms and later it goes to right above 500 rpms what do i check or what can i do?
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page