1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

b20 seem to lack power

Discussion in 'Civic and del Sol - EG and EK' started by 4drteg54321, Mar 31, 2009.

  1. 4drteg54321

    4drteg54321 New Member

    Messages:
    99
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2008
    Ok, so i been driving my honda civic b20 around and it seem to be lacking alot of power. what can it be?? So far the mod i got are crower(402) on stock cams gears, under drive pully, lighten flywheel(8lbs), short ram intake, and 21/2 exuhast pipe with stock cat i made sure it was timed right so that cant be the problem. And sometime the car seem to bog like it losing gas then get back up again when i shift.
     
  2. AHHVTEC

    AHHVTEC Well-Known Member VIP

    Messages:
    13,122
    Likes Received:
    245
    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2006
    Location:
    Alabama
    any check lights on
     
  3. eg'sforlife

    eg'sforlife New Member

    Messages:
    985
    Likes Received:
    39
    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2008
    Location:
    29 stumps, CA
    do you have any one in the car with you cause my car bogs when my buddy rides with me :D
     
  4. 152madwhp

    152madwhp New Member

    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    1
    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2009
    sounds like u needs VTAK!!!!!!
     
  5. egnet0

    egnet0 New Member

    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2009
    i had a b16 in my ef and it had burned a spark plug wire and it felt the exact same way ur describing
     
  6. GoTeamVentures2000si

    GoTeamVentures2000si New Member

    Messages:
    30
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2009
    Location:
    Collinsville, Illinois Home of the world's largest
    i had the same problem in my VW. well from what you're describing. It would be fine then it would bog down. Changed plugs, changed injectors, changed plugs again.. turned out to be bad wires. Technically they were supposed to have been changed my last tune up but the asshole at the garage i took it to didnt really change them. I would've done it myself but its a pain to change them out on VW's, you have to take the whole intake manifold off to get the middle two spark plugs.

    long story short -- check the wires.
     
  7. George777

    George777 ^^ Likes Bewbies

    Messages:
    2,917
    Likes Received:
    61
    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2005
    Location:
    With your mom
    What ECU are you running? TPS good? Any CEL?
     
  8. YBLEGAL

    YBLEGAL Regular Member w/ Cheese

    Messages:
    2,762
    Likes Received:
    36
    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2006
    Location:
    NW Indiana
    o2 sensor working right?

    get a tune for the cams
     
  9. Ryma

    Ryma Member

    Messages:
    239
    Likes Received:
    2
    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2006

    Yeah great responce, come in and do nothign to help the guy, and its vtec, gtfo.

    OP what kinda tune do you got? when was the last time plugs and wires were changed? hows your cap and rotor look?
     
  10. tegman88

    tegman88 New Member

    Messages:
    79
    Likes Received:
    1
    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2008
    Location:
    spartanburg sc
    a rocker arm popped out of place on my buddys teg and it had the same problem take your valve cover of and check also check to make sure your valves are adjusted right if there to tight it will make it loose power learned that from experience
     
  11. 4drteg54321

    4drteg54321 New Member

    Messages:
    99
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2008
    Well today i did all the maintenance i can to it, change plug, wire, rotor, caps, TPS is good. The only thing i didn't do was adjust the valve which will be done tomorrow morning when i get up. So far my bogging stopped, but the power is just not there.No i havnt gotten it tunned yet. I am going to install a walbo 255 fuel pump is that going to be ok? or will my car run rich as hell?
     
  12. D16SiHatch

    D16SiHatch New Member

    Messages:
    1,297
    Likes Received:
    44
    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2007
    The power isn't there because its not tuned. you can install the walbro fuel pump, it won't cause any trouble. now unless you plan on getting larger injectors and bigger mods to justify the extra fuel that the pump can deliver, it would be pointless to have it in there.
     
Verification:
Draft saved Draft deleted

Share This Page