b20 technical advise

We may earn a small commission from affiliate links and paid advertisements. Terms

b20crx

I am a honda noob and am trying to do my homework the best I can and have learned quite a bit. However, one thing I don't see to much of is wiring how to's. I have an 89crx dx that I am installing a b20 vtec set up and I was wondering if there was a guide to wiring. Will my new engine harness plug into my old interior harness? If not what wires do I have to splice. I was going to get the b16 harness and computer out of the car that I get the head from (I have junkyard connections and am pulling all my own stuff), but if I pull the entire harness, including the interior harness, will it still run my tach and everything else associated with it? My last car was an SRT-4 and before that it was my dodge charger so I'm not too familiar with this make. When I get the block, I do understand the diff between the b20b and b20z, but for the b16 head, what years and models do I pull them from? Any help would be great guys. I do have experiance in wrenching and actually work at a dealership but it is a toyota/gm dealership so the techs won't help me unfortunately. And do I have to convert to cable tranny? It would seem logical that I would have to and this project is looking a little pricey just because of the mods to the engine mounts and trans cable if it's necessary. I am probably going to buy another crx just to drive in the mean time. I have my eye on an 87, also, are those good platforms to swap into? I haven't gone to look at it yet, but will next weekend.