b20b/b16 head or b18b1 newbie need help!

We may earn a small commission from affiliate links and paid advertisements. Terms

94civicexnewb

Hey everyone, well let me start of by saying I'm a newbie on imports and recently got into this. I'm a motorcycle rider and now I want to get into imports. So it'll be great if I can get your help.

I'm gonna buy a 94 civic ex vtec, I was on cl. I haven't gotten a lot of info about the car. It's a single cam of course like I said a v-tec I'm guessing it's a b20b? Not really sure but that's what I think. He said it was imported from Japan. That's all I know so far. I live in Cali and I know the B20 is not legal but the car I'm buying is in Texas( I'm moving there)

Okay well I did a little research online about the B20b and the b18b1 since I think they're the most popular. This is the info I got( correct me if I got it wrong):

B20'(s): well of course came off the CRV: b20a,b20b,b20z.

B20z: has a slight her compression than the b20b

B20a: 88-91 prelude no jdm's couldn't find any mods for it.

B series is the dual over head cam motor. And ab and c mean wether or not if they're v-tec.
On B20's low compression=higher boost and high boost=lower compression.
B20's can't run for hp but are great for tq also have thin walls to be able to push heavy boost, no turbo engine will crack but are great fora supercharger. And they don't rev high.

That's what I know about the B20 series.

Now the b18b1: it's ls, low compression and longer gears and are great for rurbos. They come with low compression pistons and are not v-tec but are easy to make it a v-tec.
A b189 runs on low boost or to get different compression pistons to run higher boost(but this is something different from the other 2 motors)

That's all I have researched on so far.
Now these are my questions.

Which engine is better? And why?

What's better more hp or tq? And why?