B21a1 (anyone Remember That One Lol)

We may earn a small commission from affiliate links and paid advertisements. Terms

lafleche

Hey guys,
I'm a newbie to this forum. I see that there are some very knowledgeable people here, which relieves me. I've been searching for a reliable source of honda info for a couple days now, seems I finally found it. Well guys, here's my story, I hope you can help me out...
I have a '90 prelude S. SOHC, carbureted, 12 valve...the thing is a DOG at 104hp. Might be zippy, but no real power. My friend has an '89Si, running of course DOHC FI 16V at 135hp. I've been trying to get an Si engine for a while now, and I just found last week a '90 Si b21a1.. The dealer (it's a crappy little place) is selling it for 500 bucks cause it's got a blown head gasket (that's what he said his mechanic said). Now, my buddy and I are going to buy the car together, cause he wants all the paneling inside (his is tan), and I want the engine. He is a 12 month apprenticed mechanic, so he knows a bit by now about working on cars (especially 3rd gen 'ludes...he's got ALL kinds of stuff on his car, including a turbo). However, I knew him before he was a mechanic and I know he tends to do a hack job, although he knows his stuff.
So basically, my question for you guys: what exactly is involved in doing this swap from a b20a3 to a b21a1? I know it's probably the same motor mounts, but I'd like to know if:
1) My current tranny will work with an Si...I JUST got a new clutch.
2) My current exhaust will work with an Si (although I could take it off of the new one if need be)
3) My current ECU......
4) All non-motor parts, such as power steering, cruise control, etc...do I have to switch those to?