1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

bad ecu?

Discussion in 'ECU's, Electronics, and Tuning' started by Blocked, Feb 3, 2004.

  1. Blocked

    Blocked Junior Member

    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2004
    I bought an ecu from ebay. It was supposed to be an obd1 gsr. When i got it, their was no markings on it. I put it in my 2000 gsr car with wiring harness and i cannot tell if the ecu adds power or not. I cannot even tell if vtec kicks in. It was supposed to be a skunk2 chipped ecu with vtec at 4800. When i have the stock ecu i can feel and hear the vtec.

    My question is, is it possible that i got an ecu with out vtec? or a single cam vtec?
     
  2. radnulb

    radnulb Senior Member

    Messages:
    674
    Likes Received:
    1
    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2003
    Location:
    Sinsinnaty, Ohio
    if you have a digicam, post pictures of the inside of it.

    If not, compare to some of the ECU internals pictures at PGMFI.org and see if it looks like a OBD1 P72 on the inside.
     
  3. Blocked

    Blocked Junior Member

    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2004
    If i open it up, is it going to mess anything up? Is it hard to put back together?
     
  4. B16

    B16 Super Moderator VIP

    Messages:
    11,539
    Likes Received:
    534
    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2002
    Location:
    yay area, CA
    opening it will not harm anything... there are like 4 or 6 screws to take the top off, thats it...
     
  5. Blocked

    Blocked Junior Member

    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2004
    Will do. I will take pictures as soon as possible. Thanks. My next post will be an update.
     
Verification:
Draft saved Draft deleted

Share This Page