1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Bandwidth Management w/Linksys WRT54G

Discussion in 'Computers, Games, Electronics etc' started by endlesszeal, Oct 12, 2006.

  1. endlesszeal

    endlesszeal Senior Member

    Messages:
    2,670
    Likes Received:
    35
    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2002
    Well guys, I have an annoying roomate. For the most part, hes cool, until he starts gaming. When he games on the net, the internet comes to a halt. I have no idea how to do it wirelessly.

    I looked at the Linksys management and they had QoS for wired where you can insert MAC, set priority and then limit upload, but they dont have it for wireless. What might it be under? Or is there a software for me to do this.

    I don't mind him playing it, but i do mind it when its hogging all the bandwidth and no body else can get on because its so slow. BTW, its DSL 3 meg (I kno some have 34058345 meg service, but i dont) and its DHCP, which is weird. My setup at home you have to put in the PPOE crap or watever but this one doesnt. Its auto. I also tried changing channels and changing the MTB to 1492, but no cookie.

    PLEASE HELP.

    Thanks.
     
  2. reikoshea

    reikoshea HS Troll...And Mod Moderator VIP

    Messages:
    12,633
    Likes Received:
    193
    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2005
    Location:
    San Antonio, TX
    have you tried just using the qos with the mac address for his computer. it might say wired only (or give that impression) but i would guess you can do it wired as well.
     
  3. endlesszeal

    endlesszeal Senior Member

    Messages:
    2,670
    Likes Received:
    35
    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2002
    There is a section under QoS for wireless, but theres nothing there except a place to activate or turn off. Unlike the wired section where it has a place to enter everything i mentioned above. Does turning it on mean that whatever i entered in the wired section applies for the wireless too?

    Any other solutions beside putting him on a wired LAN?
     
  4. reikoshea

    reikoshea HS Troll...And Mod Moderator VIP

    Messages:
    12,633
    Likes Received:
    193
    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2005
    Location:
    San Antonio, TX
    i mean try it in the wired section. if its mac specific, it will probably apply to wireless. it couldnt hurt to try.
     
  5. CRX-YEM

    CRX-YEM Super Moderator Moderator VIP

    Messages:
    4,623
    Likes Received:
    54
    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2002
    Location:
    Wallingford, CT
    yeah you should be able to set he QoS based on a mac address wether it's wireless or not
     
Verification:
Draft saved Draft deleted

Share This Page