beerbongs's first time at the track!

We may earn a small commission from affiliate links and paid advertisements. Terms

beerbongskickass

Well, this is how it went. After pulling an all nighter getting my car ready (Quaife LSD install, tranny install, motor mount install, taking exhaust off, etc...) I finally had everything done and just had enough time for a shower before we had to head down to the drag strip. The jimfab motor mounts make everything rattle, but my whole front end is rock solid with that and the LSD so it's worth it. I was planning on running my nitto 555r drag radials, but my friend let me borrow his 22 inch MH slicks. Again this is my first time ever at the track and I have never driven on slicks. They said try launch at 6000 rpms and I was like are you sure? They all gave me a few more pointers and then I was ready to go.

I rolled up in the lanes waiting until it was my turn. I Threw on my 21 dollar eBay helmet and drove up to the burnout box. The best part about doing burnouts on slicks is when you actually get out of the water onto some dry road and it slams your head into the seat because you have so much traction. So I stage and rev her up to about 6000 rpms or so and I kinda try slipping the clutch a litte bit and before I knew what happend it was already over. I picked up my timeslip and saw a 13.5! I was pretty excited that being my first run. I actually bogged down a little off the line launching at 6000 rpms so I tried launching at 6500 to 7000 rpms and just dropped the clutch which gave me my best time of the day 13.304 at 102.82 MPH. My dial in was 13.3 so I got pretty damn close to breaking out. I kinda got caught sleeping on the line on that run so I ended up getting eliminated (import challenge), but I was still pretty happy with the run.