1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

blazing d/l

Discussion in 'Computers, Games, Electronics etc' started by CRX-YEM, Jun 28, 2005.

  1. CRX-YEM

    CRX-YEM Super Moderator Moderator VIP

    Messages:
    4,623
    Likes Received:
    54
    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2002
    Location:
    Wallingford, CT
    I couldn't believe my eyes.
     
  2. endlesszeal

    endlesszeal Senior Member

    Messages:
    2,670
    Likes Received:
    35
    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2002
    holy crap. was that just once or is that consistant and frequent?

    ive only seen up to like 300-400 at school with a T3.
     
  3. Battle Pope

    Battle Pope New Member

    Messages:
    10,279
    Likes Received:
    60
    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2004
    Location:
    Southern Oregon Coast
  4. xj0hnx

    xj0hnx I wanna be sedated VIP

    Messages:
    14,172
    Likes Received:
    48
    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2002
    Location:
    C.C.TX.
    Holy shit, :( I get excited when I hit 240 kb/sec
     
  5. 92civicb18b1

    92civicb18b1 The Trisexual

    Messages:
    8,859
    Likes Received:
    18
    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2003
    Location:
    The asshole of the USA, New Jersey
    I see 200-250 all day at my house, I see 3-400 at my office. That's rediculous.
     
  6. K2e2vin

    K2e2vin Senior Member

    Messages:
    8,446
    Likes Received:
    92
    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2003
    Location:
    Raleigh, NC
    ive gotten that before! it eventually dropped and sustained around 1200kbs (from mid 2000kbs)and then finished(this was during a fresh windows reinstall). i had the pic but i dont know where it is now(system restore). my regular dl speeds are around 400-600 normal. Road Runner connection(only two people including me have cable internet).

    ok i just realized my pic that i had is on a fried HD; ill take another pic if it happens again.

    here's where my connection usually holds:
    [​IMG]

    btw; which isp do you have?
     
  7. xj0hnx

    xj0hnx I wanna be sedated VIP

    Messages:
    14,172
    Likes Received:
    48
    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2002
    Location:
    C.C.TX.
    WooWooo Fedora Core 4 :) Good stuff.
     
  8. Battle Pope

    Battle Pope New Member

    Messages:
    10,279
    Likes Received:
    60
    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2004
    Location:
    Southern Oregon Coast
    Does Fedora come in DVD iso form?
     
  9. xj0hnx

    xj0hnx I wanna be sedated VIP

    Messages:
    14,172
    Likes Received:
    48
    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2002
    Location:
    C.C.TX.
  10. Battle Pope

    Battle Pope New Member

    Messages:
    10,279
    Likes Received:
    60
    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2004
    Location:
    Southern Oregon Coast
    Damn boy, looks like I'ma be downloadin' tonight!
     
  11. xj0hnx

    xj0hnx I wanna be sedated VIP

    Messages:
    14,172
    Likes Received:
    48
    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2002
    Location:
    C.C.TX.
    Run into any issues let me know :)
     
  12. pissedoffsol

    pissedoffsol RETIRED

    Messages:
    49,693
    Likes Received:
    53
    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2002
    Location:
    Retirement Home
    i see 550-850 all the time on my comcast cable.
     
  13. CRX-YEM

    CRX-YEM Super Moderator Moderator VIP

    Messages:
    4,623
    Likes Received:
    54
    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2002
    Location:
    Wallingford, CT
    B. this was from my comcast cable as well, from some sourceforge site, that was a sustained transfer. I cleard my cache etc. and tried it again, I was impressed.

    and no it wasn't fedora it was felyx and I am using win xp pro
     
  14. 92civicb18b1

    92civicb18b1 The Trisexual

    Messages:
    8,859
    Likes Received:
    18
    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2003
    Location:
    The asshole of the USA, New Jersey
    comcast is the shit. too bad im in an overly crowded area and it kills speeds.

    At 3-4 AM on a weekday I can DL shit at 600 or so
     
  15. xj0hnx

    xj0hnx I wanna be sedated VIP

    Messages:
    14,172
    Likes Received:
    48
    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2002
    Location:
    C.C.TX.

    I was refering to K2e2vins post :)

    [​IMG]
     
  16. Sabz5150

    Sabz5150 FALCON PUNCH!!!

    Messages:
    3,335
    Likes Received:
    41
    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2003


    You'll convert soon ;)
     
  17. CRX-YEM

    CRX-YEM Super Moderator Moderator VIP

    Messages:
    4,623
    Likes Received:
    54
    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2002
    Location:
    Wallingford, CT
    I've tried various flavors of linux, including fedora, they are easy to install ,get up and running etc. the only issue I have is the only cad package I know of that is ported to linux is PRO/E which is $$$$$$$ and I need cad package

    and when you d/l and install some tpe of program cd burning etc. it installs etc and makes directories atc... but doesn't make liek a similar shortcut from teh desktop or some kind of menu. Don't know if that is explained clear enough.

    Also unless I'm using an LVM or Raid, I can't really set up multiple drives like C: D: E: in windows. well unless I just haven't figured out how to yet.

    if it did these things seemlessly I'd be using linux today as a primary system.

    So for the time being I'm installing a novell netware server here at home since I've been using it for 10 years now and it works great as a server. it even runs X
     
  18. endlesszeal

    endlesszeal Senior Member

    Messages:
    2,670
    Likes Received:
    35
    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2002
    fastest ive seen is 200kbps and thats for a fraction of a second. usually its 160-170. its normal right, for a 1.5mb/s dl DSL. its the cheapest, around 26 per month, but now its like 15 and im trying ot get into the deal.
     
  19. xj0hnx

    xj0hnx I wanna be sedated VIP

    Messages:
    14,172
    Likes Received:
    48
    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2002
    Location:
    C.C.TX.

    Right click on desktop > create new > link to application

    As far as the AutoCad there's a few replacment, though spending time getting used to them could be more a reason not to switch. I still uses PS over GIMP unless it's a quick resize, anything more and it's PS. CAD + Linux programs.

    For the drives, depends on if they are NTFS or another files system. I have both my internals and my extrenal mounted and recognized, my Windows and external are both NTFS too, I had to add read only support, and if I felt like messing with it, I could use Captiva and have read/write for NTFS. It autodectected my thumb/CD/DVD only probelm I really had was my camera, but that's becasue I set it to autodect the wrong mode :(
     
  20. CRX-YEM

    CRX-YEM Super Moderator Moderator VIP

    Messages:
    4,623
    Likes Received:
    54
    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2002
    Location:
    Wallingford, CT



    The only other gripe I have is networking with windows systems I tried fedora core 4 w/ samba server running. everything work, I could see each computer on the network browse files , copy a file from a windows machine to the linux box.
    I could copy a file from the linux machine back to the windows box. but when I tried to play an mp3 stored on the linux box via winamp on the winows machine no dice.
     
Verification:
Draft saved Draft deleted

Share This Page