1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Blew a JDM D15B swapping another one in

Discussion in 'Civic and del Sol - EG and EK' started by Hoff, Dec 17, 2009.

1. Hoff

Hoff New Member

Hello,

I have a 93 del sol with a JDM D15B and a T3 turbocharger. I just shot a rod thru the block due to a loss of oil pressure so I'm picking up another JDM longblock saturday.

This is my first time swapping a motor myself and I signed up here for help.

So far I have removed the turbo, manifold, ewg, wire harness, vacuum lines, grounds, etc

I'm pretty sure all I have left is the fuel line, axels, and shifter...

Does anyone know if I'll need special tools at this point?

I plan on swapping my trans, clutch, starter and injectors over to the new motor.

eventually I will do the timing belt, head bolts, pumps etc.

2. ZCpowerdSI

ZCpowerdSI New Member

The only special tool you need is a clutch alignment tool (but you can use other things)

Its just hard to get the pin out of the shifter linkage in most cases (punch and hammer)

Last edited: Dec 17, 2009
  3. Matts96HB

Matts96HB . Moderator VIP

You won't really need anything special for the rest of it besides (as stated above) a clutch alignment tool, and I'd also recommend a 1/4" drive extension for removing what we call the "bitch pin". It holds the linkage onto the transmission, and it's a real PITA. 1/4" drive fits in there perfectly, then just grab a hammer and hammer on the end of it, should come out with some abuse.

4. efhondakid

efhondakid My name is Byron. VIP

To qoute klyph "honda engines are glued in, hook it up to the hoist and rip it out" In all seriousness nothing special is needed, air tools make things a lot easier, and if you get a new clutch they usually come with an alignment tool.

5. ZCpowerdSI

ZCpowerdSI New Member

The reason i didnt say a 1/4" drive extension is because you can f**k them up. I've done it twice. lol

6. Hoff