1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Blue screening...

Discussion in 'Computers, Games, Electronics etc' started by jamesA, Jun 21, 2009.

  1. jamesA

    jamesA Well known pissed off telephone guy VIP

    Messages:
    16,127
    Likes Received:
    1,020
    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2003
    This has been doing it for a while, my desktop which is a dell... a 6 year old Dell, running Windows xp.

    It'll freeze then blue screen saying "Kernel_stack_Inpage_error"

    What the hell does this mean and how do I fix it? The only thing that doesn't work on this computer is the dvd/cd burner. The door won't open.

    Could my HD be taking a shit? I did have a problem with it not finding my HD a week or so ago upon turning it on until I rebooted it.
     
  2. phyregod

    phyregod !!YTINASNI

    Messages:
    9,449
    Likes Received:
    225
    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2005
    Location:
    Central Texas
  3. whiterabbit06

    whiterabbit06 Why oh why didn't I take the blue pill? VIP

    Messages:
    1,472
    Likes Received:
    312
    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2007
    Location:
    Crestview, Fl
    Try defraging the HDD. Also if it's 6 years old and never had a re-install it might be time.
     
  4. phyregod

    phyregod !!YTINASNI

    Messages:
    9,449
    Likes Received:
    225
    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2005
    Location:
    Central Texas
    It it hasn't had a fresh install in 6 years I'm willing to bet your registry is a junk yard full of sharp objects. Registry cleaners are a joke. Sometimes its just best to backup your important stuff and get a fresh install. Get rid of all of the fragments that the defragger misses, etc.
     
  5. whiterabbit06

    whiterabbit06 Why oh why didn't I take the blue pill? VIP

    Messages:
    1,472
    Likes Received:
    312
    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2007
    Location:
    Crestview, Fl
    Hold the windows key then hit R. Type regedit and hit Ok. Navigate to:

    HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\System\CurrentControlSet\Services\i8042prt\Parameters

    Now, make a DWORD value named 'CrashOnCtrlScroll'. Double click on the value and set it to 1. Exit regedit and restart your computer. To cause windows to crash , simply hold the right hand alt and press the scroll lock key twice.
     
  6. phyregod

    phyregod !!YTINASNI

    Messages:
    9,449
    Likes Received:
    225
    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2005
    Location:
    Central Texas
    Umm.. he isn't trying to make it crash, he is trying to fix it! lol
     
  7. Battle Pope

    Battle Pope New Member

    Messages:
    10,279
    Likes Received:
    60
    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2004
    Location:
    Southern Oregon Coast
    I think he was demonstrating how easy it is for errant registry entries to shit up the box.
     
  8. TurboRex90

    TurboRex90 Golden EG

    Messages:
    1,250
    Likes Received:
    31
    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2008
    Location:
    Maryland
  9. TurboMirage

    TurboMirage YEEAAAHHH VIP

    Messages:
    24,580
    Likes Received:
    696
    Joined:
    May 20, 2003
    Location:
    Central, MA
    usually related to memory, or your HDD is preparing to take a shit on you.
     
  10. Briansol

    Briansol Admins Admin VIP

    Messages:
    21,455
    Likes Received:
    2,117
    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2007
    Location:
    CT
    formatthebitch.com
     
  11. DarkHand

    DarkHand Senior Member VIP

    Messages:
    5,117
    Likes Received:
    241
    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2002
    Location:
    Chicago, IL
    You definitely need a fresh install, but run a full chkdsk and/or scan the entire hard drive for bad sectors when you do. That error is usually due to a bad HD sector that happens to be in the paging file. If you're seeing bad sectors, the drive is failing. All hard drives have extra slack space that's used only to invisibly replace bad sectors so the system never has to see them. If you're seeing bad sectors after a scan, that means the extra slack is completely used up from many other bad sectors. So as soon as you see one bad sector, the drive is already significantly failing and it's time for a new drive.
     
  12. jamesA

    jamesA Well known pissed off telephone guy VIP

    Messages:
    16,127
    Likes Received:
    1,020
    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2003
    I did google it, and when I read what the fuck it talked about it looked like Greek. I have no clue what this shit means so I thought I'd ask you nerds and let you flex your nerdy brains and then put it into lamens terms so my computer-illiterate ass could understand it. :thumbsup:

    Problem 2: Free Anti-virus programs online? What, if any, other than the shit already installed on most computers do you use?

    I need to put something on my netbook, its locking up now a lot. I have Ad Aware, but the version they have now doesn't seem to work as well as what I have on the desktop. If there is one you recommend I can purchase at the store, I can upload it to my mobile HD and use it from there.
     
  13. TurboMirage

    TurboMirage YEEAAAHHH VIP

    Messages:
    24,580
    Likes Received:
    696
    Joined:
    May 20, 2003
    Location:
    Central, MA


    see what i wrote above. this is not software related in the least. you reformat, go ahead, and you'll be posting here within a few days about the same error.
     
  14. jamesA

    jamesA Well known pissed off telephone guy VIP

    Messages:
    16,127
    Likes Received:
    1,020
    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2003
    I read it. I could get a terrabyte HD for 140, so I might just replace it at some point. Not really sure I want to go through reformatting.
     
  15. DarkHand

    DarkHand Senior Member VIP

    Messages:
    5,117
    Likes Received:
    241
    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2002
    Location:
    Chicago, IL
  16. Battle Pope

    Battle Pope New Member

    Messages:
    10,279
    Likes Received:
    60
    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2004
    Location:
    Southern Oregon Coast
    Re: antivirus... adaware isn't an antivirus. I don't run antivirus at all, but people generally say AVG is good.
     
  17. TurboMirage

    TurboMirage YEEAAAHHH VIP

    Messages:
    24,580
    Likes Received:
    696
    Joined:
    May 20, 2003
    Location:
    Central, MA
    im an AVG guy, and we resell it corporately too.
     
  18. TurboRex90

    TurboRex90 Golden EG

    Messages:
    1,250
    Likes Received:
    31
    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2008
    Location:
    Maryland
    Does cracked double as free to you? If so, use torrent files and get a copy of norton 2009.
     
  19. jamesA

    jamesA Well known pissed off telephone guy VIP

    Messages:
    16,127
    Likes Received:
    1,020
    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2003
    Well yeah, but no. lol Only thing I have that is cracked is PSP7.
     
  20. endlesszeal

    endlesszeal Senior Member

    Messages:
    2,670
    Likes Received:
    35
    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2002
    if youre looking for a new hard drive, id get a wd cavair black edition. best performing 1tb solution. if for storage, i say get their green edition. it spins between 5400 to 7200 depending. and yeah, formatting takes like 4-5 hours! wholey cow. but if youre really lazy and confident, you can just NFTS quick and itll do it like 3-4 minutes. difference is the slow way checks the drive for sector errors and such. i recommend doing it regular on the first fresh install and just quick for the rest of the time.

    as for anti-whatever i run a combo of

    paid:
    -norton 2009
    -ASS (adaware, superantispyware, spybot)

    free:
    -anti-vir
    -comodo firewall
    -ASS

    anti-vir detection rate is top tier. only thing is itll pop up and tell you to buy the pro (no biggie) and you have to manually tell it what to do if it detects something. with norton, you'll never notice it. and with ASS, i consider it the "wholey trinity" because with the 3, you'll pick up just about everything and get rid of it.
     
    1 person likes this.
Verification:
Draft saved Draft deleted

Share This Page