1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Boosting With Stock Electronics?

Discussion in 'Forced Induction' started by Kinked_Chrome, Jan 15, 2003.

  1. Kinked_Chrome

    Kinked_Chrome Junior Member

    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2003
    Location:
    Good 'Ol Idaho
    My buddy and I swapped a b16 into his 4th gen Civic hatch with a few bolt ons. Fun car, good performance, but we're ready for more. We have a nice turbo setup planned out. We going to use a T3, and want to run about 10psi. Is this modest enough for daily driving? The only thing we don't know about is the electronics. Is the stock MAP and ECM going to recognize 10-15psi? :unsure: Or do we have to make for modifications. This is relativaly low budget and we want to avoid moving to a stand alone FI system.
     
  2. pissedoffsol

    pissedoffsol RETIRED

    Messages:
    49,693
    Likes Received:
    53
    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2002
    Location:
    Retirement Home
    stock ECU will not read more than 2 psi without throwing codes.
    honda map sensors wont read above 11 psi with out throwing codes.

    you need both a missing link and a GM 2- or 3-bar map sensor.

    OR

    aem/hondata and a 2- or 3-bar map

    and i recommend the aem you run anyway.
     
  3. redtao

    redtao Member

    Messages:
    67
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2003
    :spin: :spin: Hey pissedoff that GM 2- or 3-bar map sensor your talking about, what are the disadvantages if there are some and how do we find the one that fits our civic. I have a 97 delsol dohc.
     
  4. Kinked_Chrome

    Kinked_Chrome Junior Member

    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2003
    Location:
    Good 'Ol Idaho
    Ok, so a new map is in order. What do you mean 'missing link', and is the hondata an ECU mod?
     
  5. sisteve

    sisteve Guest

    a hondata is a standalone ecu system (www.hondata.com) its fully customizable, works basically the same way an aem does.

    The 3-bar map sensor from GM will fit any year honda 88-00, should just bolt on. The advantages of it are it will read up to 3 Bars (~44.1 psi) while the stock honda sensor can only read up to 11-12psi

    hth
     
  6. prawjEKt Cx

    prawjEKt Cx Senior Member

    Messages:
    551
    Likes Received:
    1
    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2003
    Location:
    upstate NY
    what do you mean a GM map sensor.... i'm confuesd aare you talking about GM As in General motors?????? what the fuck would they need a 3 bar map sensor for? or goes GM stand for somthing else
     
  7. sisteve

    sisteve Guest

    yes, gm as in general motors. I'm assuming they make them because most of their parts are interchangeable just like all other companies, and well, some cars came boosted from the factory (GN, T-Type, Typhoon, Syclone etc etc) and needed a higher map sensor to accomodate for boost heads :)

    and most people dont know, but gm and honda go back aways...honda actually sold some engines to gm, and vice versa...so if you see a 8 cyl honda coming out soon...its a gm engine :)
     
  8. pissedoffsol

    pissedoffsol RETIRED

    Messages:
    49,693
    Likes Received:
    53
    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2002
    Location:
    Retirement Home
    yup- its an OEM chevy/buick map sensor... aka General Motors

    a missing link simple tricks the ecu into reading that its not getting boost so it wont throw a code- but if you go over 11psi, the map sensor won't know what the fuck to do, so it throws a code anyway, thus putting you in closed loop and crappy performance
     
  9. Kinked_Chrome

    Kinked_Chrome Junior Member

    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2003
    Location:
    Good 'Ol Idaho
    Ok, I checked out hondata. It's a pretty trick system, but I don't think we need for our application. This is a mild setup that we want to make streetable and reliable. I have a GM MAP around actually (thought it went out on my LT1 260z, see my needed to be updated website), so for the missing link, do I need a resistor or relay, or simply cut the wire? and will the computer know to give it more fuel with just the MAP and the missing link?
     
  10. prawjEKt Cx

    prawjEKt Cx Senior Member

    Messages:
    551
    Likes Received:
    1
    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2003
    Location:
    upstate NY
    god a gm motor in a honda...... :puke:
     
Verification:
Draft saved Draft deleted

Share This Page