1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

boring my B16a1

Discussion in 'Engine Building' started by b16a1dohc, Jun 14, 2014.

  1. b16a1dohc

    b16a1dohc New Member

    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2014
    Hi guys! Im rebuilding my b16a1 dohc vtec engine.. had the head gasflowd ordered a set of branches and spitronics fuel management chip..im thinking of getting 0.30mm pistons.as im going to have the cylinders cleaned and bored. ..
    Any advice guys? Thanks
     
  2. b16a1dohc

    b16a1dohc New Member

    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2014
    IMG-20140411-WA0013.jpg
     
  3. b16a1dohc

    b16a1dohc New Member

    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2014
  4. b16a1dohc

    b16a1dohc New Member

    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2014
  5. phunky.buddha

    phunky.buddha Admin with a big stick Admin VIP

    Messages:
    28,465
    Likes Received:
    228
    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2002
    Location:
    Dallas / Fort Worth, TX
    Holy crap, resurrected a thread that was almost 10 years dormant...

    Have the machine shop check and see how much absolutely has to be bored to clean up the cylinders if at all, then decide on your piston size. The amount of displacement you gain from a half millimeter really isn't worth the expense or strength loss, plus finding pistons might be a bit harder, plus you might kill the engine and need to bore on another cleanup- bore now and you'll have less to work with later.
     
  6. Briansol

    Briansol Admins Admin VIP

    Messages:
    21,452
    Likes Received:
    2,116
    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2007
    Location:
    CT
    81.25 is standard over-bore. why .30 over?
     
Verification:
Draft saved Draft deleted

Share This Page