1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

break in without turbo?

Discussion in 'Forced Induction' started by Delsol94, Dec 4, 2011.

  1. Delsol94

    Delsol94 New Member

    Messages:
    242
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2008
    Location:
    Boonsboro Maryland
    i just got vitara pistons and eagle h beams for my d16 and i was reading that u are supposed to put 1000 miles on the pistons and rods before u go hard on them, i dnt have all of my turbo parts and was wondering if its advised i put my internals in and break them in so when i get all of my parts i can just bolt them on and get a tune and the engine will be broke in, and i understand that my compression will be super low so my car will be way down on power.
     
  2. Briansol

    Briansol Admins Admin VIP

    Messages:
    21,448
    Likes Received:
    2,110
    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2007
    Location:
    CT
    It doesn't really matter. The correct tune is the most important thing on any build. I'm a fan of beating the hell out of it from day 1. You can go all motor if you want first, but again, make sure it has a proper tune on it. A stock map may flood out on the low compression, and washout would ruin it.
     
  3. lostsoulzprophet

    lostsoulzprophet delslow

    Messages:
    874
    Likes Received:
    21
    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2009
    Location:
    georgia
    Agreed with b. May flood it out.
     
  4. FLounder

    FLounder power hungry VIP

    Messages:
    2,419
    Likes Received:
    137
    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2008
    Location:
    north palm beach, FL
    i have had two built motors before, both of them were on boost and put immediately on the dyno for initial startup and tuning. driving around on a crappy tune is far worse than going wide open on boost with a good tune.
     
  5. Delsol94

    Delsol94 New Member

    Messages:
    242
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2008
    Location:
    Boonsboro Maryland
    so i dnt have to break in new parts before dyno? it says put 1000 miles on the pistons and dnt rev past 3k on the box? just dnt wanna break new parts thanks
     
  6. FLounder

    FLounder power hungry VIP

    Messages:
    2,419
    Likes Received:
    137
    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2008
    Location:
    north palm beach, FL
    everyone has their own opinion on breakin periods. the tuner that works on my car has tuned many fresh builds on the dyno right away. with the last build on my car we idled it for an hour, drove it around on a basemap for about 20 miles, changed the oil, and then slapped it on the dyno and did wot pulls to tune it in. then changed the oil again.

    the last built b series i had before this one, it went straight from idle to dyno pulls, and it lasted for years, including some track use.

    if you do some research about breaking in motors, you will see that their are a lot of opinions, but i feel like you want to break it in fast. it has worked for me.
     
  7. Delsol94

    Delsol94 New Member

    Messages:
    242
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2008
    Location:
    Boonsboro Maryland
    ok thanks alot for the info ill talk to my tuner
     
  8. Magana559

    Magana559 The Warden

    Messages:
    2,568
    Likes Received:
    42
    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2008
    Location:
    fresno Ca
    Just buy the cheapest oil and filters you can get. You will need 3 oil changes.

    On the first start make sure you have the oil pump primed, then start and sort out the bugs untill it idles correctly. Once it dose then your ready to let it come up to operating temp to make sure your not over heating and that the fan kicks on.

    Now drain your oil

    Tow to your tuner and tune. Once your all tuned, drain oil again and run engine for 1k miles and drain again and then you can have your oil changes at normal times
     
Verification:
Draft saved Draft deleted

Share This Page