1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Broken Internet

Discussion in 'Members' Lounge' started by endlesszeal, Oct 18, 2003.

  1. endlesszeal

    endlesszeal Senior Member

    Messages:
    2,670
    Likes Received:
    35
    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2002
    why can't i download anything anymore? everytime i right click, "save as" a message pops up and says it couldn't make a connection.. i cant dl shit anymore.. i was going to get antivirus from mcafees.. anyone have a clue?
     
  2. Tonyd0821

    Tonyd0821 Banned

    Messages:
    5,088
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2003
    i hate you.
     
  3. JDMPlaya

    JDMPlaya Senior Member

    Messages:
    1,789
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2003
    Location:
    Columbus, OH
  4. endlesszeal

    endlesszeal Senior Member

    Messages:
    2,670
    Likes Received:
    35
    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2002
    haha sorry about the misconception.. but yeah.. anyone have any idea??? i cant do shit except browse.. i cant stream, download, do online scans, and shit like that.. whats wrong? im using IE6 btw.. i cant even dl the new patches and shit
     
  5. 94RedSiGal

    94RedSiGal Senior Member

    Messages:
    3,147
    Likes Received:
    1
    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2003
    Location:
    Massachusetts
    Have you tried rebooting your computer?
     
  6. endlesszeal

    endlesszeal Senior Member

    Messages:
    2,670
    Likes Received:
    35
    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2002
    about 7 times in the past 20 minutes
     
  7. TurboMirage

    TurboMirage YEEAAAHHH VIP

    Messages:
    24,577
    Likes Received:
    696
    Joined:
    May 20, 2003
    Location:
    Central, MA

    with a hammer?
     
  8. 94RedSiGal

    94RedSiGal Senior Member

    Messages:
    3,147
    Likes Received:
    1
    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2003
    Location:
    Massachusetts
    Doublecheck your security settings, go to tools and then internet options. Clear your temporary internet files and history caches. How much is available as free space on your C drive?
     
  9. 94RedSiGal

    94RedSiGal Senior Member

    Messages:
    3,147
    Likes Received:
    1
    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2003
    Location:
    Massachusetts

    My new favorite tool is that pry bar from the junkyard. :D
     
  10. jamesA

    jamesA Well known pissed off telephone guy VIP

    Messages:
    16,117
    Likes Received:
    1,015
    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2003

    :withstupid:
     
  11. pissedoffsol

    pissedoffsol RETIRED

    Messages:
    49,693
    Likes Received:
    53
    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2002
    Location:
    Retirement Home
    click here-

    C:\Documents and Settings\Brian\Local Settings\Temporary Internet Files

    change BRIAN to your logon name, and C: to where your windows is if needed.

    DELETE that entire fodler contents. its probably stupid big.
     
  12. endlesszeal

    endlesszeal Senior Member

    Messages:
    2,670
    Likes Received:
    35
    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2002
    i've tried that, nothing works.. man.. this is gay... i think its internet explorer.. i cant even download another broswer.. everytime i try to download smething it says, "internet explorer cannot open this internet site. the it site was unavaible or cannot be found. try again later." the only thing i can do is browse.. i cant download or stream.
     
  13. 94RedSiGal

    94RedSiGal Senior Member

    Messages:
    3,147
    Likes Received:
    1
    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2003
    Location:
    Massachusetts
    What version of Windows are you on? Have you gone to the Microsoft site to check for updates yet?
     
  14. TurboMirage

    TurboMirage YEEAAAHHH VIP

    Messages:
    24,577
    Likes Received:
    696
    Joined:
    May 20, 2003
    Location:
    Central, MA

    worked pretty well when i was fucking up that guys engine. :roll:


    zeal: is it possible you installed a proxy server or firewall software?
     
  15. pissedoffsol

    pissedoffsol RETIRED

    Messages:
    49,693
    Likes Received:
    53
    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2002
    Location:
    Retirement Home
    if IE is fucked-

    get mozilla, or opera, or firebird, or one of the 1000 other browsers out there.
     
  16. Slo86GT

    Slo86GT Super Moderator

    Messages:
    3,354
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2002
    Location:
    Memphis - Hellhole of the South
    If you're using Win98/ME with IE 5.0+ run the IE Repair utility.

    If you're running XP or 2000 try the uninstall IE option. It runs the repair as well.

    IE self fix = good.
     
  17. Tonyd0821

    Tonyd0821 Banned

    Messages:
    5,088
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2003
    try resetting your internet explorer options.
     
  18. get_nick

    get_nick These snozzberries taste like snozzberries... VIP

    Messages:
    11,937
    Likes Received:
    1,056
    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2003
    Location:
    Washington State
    if you know a date it started, you can do a restore system settings. start-accessories-system tools-system restore. then just pick a date. you're good to go
     
  19. endlesszeal

    endlesszeal Senior Member

    Messages:
    2,670
    Likes Received:
    35
    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2002
    hey thanks for all the responses guys.. i have XP Pro and ive dl ALL the updates and check for them everyday.. ive tried restoring my computer, but it said it cant be restored becuase there was no changes.. i tried 2 dates, early this month and middle last month.. didnt work..i dont have any firewalls except the one that you click properties and go advance on the internet options.. worked fine before.. i have no idea what a proxy server is.. B, i cant dl or get ahold of another broswer becuase i cant dl it and ive tried kazaa but no luck.. so my last options are, how do i reset IE??? and how do i get to the self-fix on XP??? i went to add/remove programs and i couldnt find it.. how do i get to it?? thanks id appericate it
     
  20. endlesszeal

    endlesszeal Senior Member

    Messages:
    2,670
    Likes Received:
    35
    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2002
    alright guys.. I FINALLY FIXED IT!!! after 4 days of frustration i found a fix.. it was my index.dat files.. they were all set to archive and i just resetted them to read-only and what the fuck, it worked.. that was soo stupid.. i hate computers.. anyway, for those who have this problem go to start, search, type in index.dat and right click.. properties and change all of them to read-only.. that should do it..
     
Verification:
Draft saved Draft deleted

Share This Page