1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Broken Throttle Position Sensor

Discussion in 'ECU's, Electronics, and Tuning' started by Vexamus, Feb 5, 2003.

  1. Vexamus

    Vexamus Member

    Messages:
    87
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2003
    Hey all, real quick..

    The TPS on my Euro R swap is busted(the connector). I have good wireing and machining skills. Werd on the street is I have to buy a whole throttle body to get a new sensor. Can anyone point me in the direction where I may be able to purchase a new sensor by itself??? I'd rather like to avoid shelling out 500 or so bucks for a new TB. If I could just get the sensor, it can't be that complicated to install(it's a pot with a lever, I mean, c'mon...). Please let me know asap. The engine is to go in on valentines day.

    So I need a TPS for a 2001 H22A
     
  2. AllMotorMonster

    AllMotorMonster Senior Member

    Messages:
    542
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2002
    Location:
    Inland Empire foo!

    You cannot buy just a new TPS from the dealer or any other source, those that have told you to buy a whole new t-body are correct.

    HOWEVER - You can salvage TPS sensors from other t-body's. Honda was smart in using the same TPS sensor for about 90% of their cars.

    I had one, but it is gone now. They sell for approximately $50-100.
     
  3. dohcvtec_accord

    dohcvtec_accord WRX Sellout

    Messages:
    8,433
    Likes Received:
    1
    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2002
    Location:
    The left lane
    True, but for a swap, he'd probably want an adjustable one, which (as far as I understand) only came on JDM engines.
     
  4. lsvtec

    lsvtec GNU/Linux Evangelist

    Messages:
    5,453
    Likes Received:
    4
    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2002
    Location:
    Greater Portland, OR
    They are all adjustable, JDM TB's come with screws that hold the TPS in place while USDM TB's are rivetted inplace. You can have the rivets drilled out a USDM TB, but don't go where I did, they charged me $80 for it. :angry:
     
  5. dohcvtec_accord

    dohcvtec_accord WRX Sellout

    Messages:
    8,433
    Likes Received:
    1
    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2002
    Location:
    The left lane
    Well yeah, that's what I meant....that it'd be EASIER to get a JDM TPS.
     
  6. lsvtec

    lsvtec GNU/Linux Evangelist

    Messages:
    5,453
    Likes Received:
    4
    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2002
    Location:
    Greater Portland, OR
    The JDM TPS is exactly the same and the USDM, the difference is on the TB. It is how the TPS is mounted to the TB.
     
  7. dohcvtec_accord

    dohcvtec_accord WRX Sellout

    Messages:
    8,433
    Likes Received:
    1
    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2002
    Location:
    The left lane
  8. Vexamus

    Vexamus Member

    Messages:
    87
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2003
    Yes fellas, thank you. I already solved my TPS problem(no coversheets here.) I just unscrewed my jdm one and saw how it worked. I'm just gonna rip the one off my F22 when it comes out. Thanks for the info though. Stupid Honda, why the fuk not just sell them individually?
     
  9. B16

    B16 Super Moderator VIP

    Messages:
    11,539
    Likes Received:
    534
    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2002
    Location:
    yay area, CA
    because they need to re-calibrated to work on a different TB
     
  10. lsvtec

    lsvtec GNU/Linux Evangelist

    Messages:
    5,453
    Likes Received:
    4
    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2002
    Location:
    Greater Portland, OR
    which you can do your self if you have a volt meter.
     
Verification:
Draft saved Draft deleted

Share This Page