Building up D for boost. recommendations?

We may earn a small commission from affiliate links and paid advertisements. Terms

Andrew

Hey guys. I'm about to start my turbo build of a d16z6. It's my first build, so I'm looking to do it right, with some of the best parts, and hoping you guys can help me out!

I'm wanting to build a motor that will get my crx touching 13's, or better, but I also want it able to drive me around daily. I don't know that much about turbos, but I've been reading a lot of articles on Turbod16.com, as well as on here and H-T.

Heres where I was hoping you guys can aid me.
I have a pretty good idea of what parts are the best, but i just wanna be sure.

Maybe you guys can hook me up with a list kinda like this(in "()" I'll put what I know might be best):

______ pistons
______ rods (Eagle)
______ bolts (ARP)
3 angle valve job
P& P head (d16z6)
_______ valves/springs/titanium retainers (one company)
_______ turbo/kit
___ MM, _______ wastegate (35mm)
_____cc Injectors
___ " exhaust (I'm thinking that since I'm not going for uber amounts of HP, 2.5" from the DP should work..)
____ ECU runnning ____ tuning program (P28, maybe chipped{?}, with hondata, crome, uberdata... w/e my tuner uses.)

I'd really appreciate it! and maybe I'm onto the right track.
-Andrew

Last edited:
pistons - CP, hands down the best IMO; Wiseco, JE, and Arias also make good products. You'll want 9.0-10.0:1 compression for turbo, depending on how big your turbo is, and how much you'll be boosting. 9.5:1 is a good middle point.

rods- Eagle makes great rods for the price. Crower econo billets are amazing, and will definitely take anything you can throw at them. I've heard Probe makes good rods as well. Cunningham iis just overkill for your goals, but makes amazing quality pieces.

bolts - yes ARP, or AEBS. The only two brands I knoow of, annd both make good stuff. I prefer ARP.