1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Built My First Gaming Pc

Discussion in 'Members' Lounge' started by dilbeckskate, Feb 19, 2017.

  1. dilbeckskate

    dilbeckskate infamous

    Messages:
    4,288
    Likes Received:
    424
    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2010
    Location:
    Kennesaw Ga
    Title says all, I bought a 52 inch samsung 4k tv last black friday and have been wanting a nice 4k input, bored with my xbox one soo gaming pc it is ! 6th gen I5 6500, asus 480 8gb , 8 ggb ddr4 ram 2133 , corsair 600 watt power supply , asus h170 gaming board , windows 10 pro 20170218_193022.png 20170218_205734.jpg 20170218_211826.jpg received_10155042414131100.jpeg
     
  2. dilbeckskate

    dilbeckskate infamous

    Messages:
    4,288
    Likes Received:
    424
    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2010
    Location:
    Kennesaw Ga
    ok I got the itch now, just bought 3 cooler master red led 120mm fans and a cooler master evo cooler, next upgrade will be another gpu crossfired and doubling the ram and upgrading the power supply and the computer should be done
    2c195fce-564d-4e34-ba28-09b0ad789927_1.215d7f1a5c02a0eb154814c7ce8ffa34.jpeg 290_12a607c6cf6f57eea1a3b70f7941638a_1361408183.jpg
     
  3. reikoshea

    reikoshea HS Troll...And Mod Moderator VIP

    Messages:
    12,793
    Likes Received:
    287
    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2005
    Location:
    Dallas, TX
    Just a heads up, a 480 is not going to run games at 4k. You'll want to run your games at 1920x1080 (which since it's an even scaling, you shouldn't get too much input lag).

    Even a nvidia 1080 wouldn't do it for EVERYTHING. Games are moving faster than GPUs at the moment, so we still have a couple generations before the top end will run everything at 60fps smooth at 4k.
     
    dilbeckskate likes this.
  4. dilbeckskate

    dilbeckskate infamous

    Messages:
    4,288
    Likes Received:
    424
    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2010
    Location:
    Kennesaw Ga
    idk man ive been playing battllefield 1 , bioshock infinite , fallout 4 , and call of duty modern warfare remastered and black ops 3 at 4k all on ultra high detail between 30-60fps (not amazing I know but still more playable than XB1) , I drop it down to 2560x1440 when I want to get crazy frame rate though
     
  5. TurboMirage

    TurboMirage YEEAAAHHH VIP

    Messages:
    25,191
    Likes Received:
    985
    Joined:
    May 20, 2003
    Location:
    Central, MA
    I run everything at 1080 on my omen lol

    I play games like tibia, mighty no 9, I am setsuna, final fantasy 15 etc no trouble.
     
  6. reikoshea

    reikoshea HS Troll...And Mod Moderator VIP

    Messages:
    12,793
    Likes Received:
    287
    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2005
    Location:
    Dallas, TX
    Yeah, I think our definitions of "run" differ. I will flip my shit if a game drops below 60fps. And because I hadn't yet made....questionable decisions about fatherhood....i was planning on having a 144hz 2560x1440 monitor in addition to my 4k. And then there were babies and that went out the window.
     
    dilbeckskate and E_SolSi like this.
  7. E_SolSi

    E_SolSi Member of the 20 nut club Moderator VIP

    Messages:
    32,859
    Likes Received:
    6,863
    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2002
    Location:
    CT
    :repost:
     
  8. reikoshea

    reikoshea HS Troll...And Mod Moderator VIP

    Messages:
    12,793
    Likes Received:
    287
    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2005
    Location:
    Dallas, TX
    That made me paranoid for a second...i had to go look and see if i'd said anything on facebook or here. Thanks for wasting 30 minutes of my day xD.
     
    B16 and dilbeckskate like this.
  9. dilbeckskate

    dilbeckskate infamous

    Messages:
    4,288
    Likes Received:
    424
    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2010
    Location:
    Kennesaw Ga
    my cooler + fans should be here today :)
     
  10. dilbeckskate

    dilbeckskate infamous

    Messages:
    4,288
    Likes Received:
    424
    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2010
    Location:
    Kennesaw Ga
    installed 3 120mm LED fans tonight, lowered temps adv 8°C , looks nice with the tempered glass but my potato s6 active cant take a good picture 20170222_203739.jpg 20170222_200532.jpg
     
    Last edited: Feb 22, 2017
  11. dilbeckskate

    dilbeckskate infamous

    Messages:
    4,288
    Likes Received:
    424
    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2010
    Location:
    Kennesaw Ga
    idk why pic uploaded upside down
     
  12. dilbeckskate

    dilbeckskate infamous

    Messages:
    4,288
    Likes Received:
    424
    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2010
    Location:
    Kennesaw Ga
    Okkkk I went ahead and did it, got a high volume fan to take the last spot , 8 more gb of ram (16 gigs now) , a red led strip, another RX480 graphics card 8gb model to crossfire them and a fully modular power supply :D I will now be able to play ANY game I want @4k resolution in Ultra settings over 60fps , the computer build will be done after this
    Screenshot_20170224-011019.png
     
    Last edited: Feb 24, 2017
  13. corvetteguy78

    corvetteguy78 Well-Known Member VIP

    Messages:
    3,558
    Likes Received:
    318
    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2007
    Location:
    CT
    Why did you order different RAM speed? Your first RAM is 2133, the new RAM is 2400, is your first 8gig 2 sticks of 4GB? Better off just going all 2400 speed but 2 sticks x8GB rather than 4 sticks of 4GB
     
  14. dilbeckskate

    dilbeckskate infamous

    Messages:
    4,288
    Likes Received:
    424
    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2010
    Location:
    Kennesaw Ga
    Original ram is 2400 I was using cpu-z to idtentify what it was running at the time its 4 matching 4gb sticks
     
  15. dilbeckskate

    dilbeckskate infamous

    Messages:
    4,288
    Likes Received:
    424
    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2010
    Location:
    Kennesaw Ga
    and duh sherlock holmes 32 gigabyte would be better than 16 gigabyte but for my gaming rig it would be useless I don't even utilize 8 gigabytes
     
  16. dilbeckskate

    dilbeckskate infamous

    Messages:
    4,288
    Likes Received:
    424
    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2010
    Location:
    Kennesaw Ga
    ok the gaming rig is complete, ive got the cooler master evo cooler in , 8 more gigs of ram , the 2nd Asus Dual 8gb RX480 in , and the full modular power supply, now my corsair case sucks and before I waste my time putting the stuff in I bought a Cooler Master Scout 2 gaming case that should house everything nicely and can support 9 fans and has excellent cable management shoulddd be here thurs-fri pics will pursuit 11-119-263-14.jpg
     
  17. dilbeckskate

    dilbeckskate infamous

    Messages:
    4,288
    Likes Received:
    424
    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2010
    Location:
    Kennesaw Ga
    Mmm Crossfired Video Cards :D I5 6500, 2 8gb Asus Dual RX480s , 16gb ram, 500mb SSD and 1 TB Mechanical , Fully Modular 750 watt power supply (excuse cable managment my new case will be here sat) FB_IMG_1488420498262.jpg
     
  18. dilbeckskate

    dilbeckskate infamous

    Messages:
    4,288
    Likes Received:
    424
    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2010
    Location:
    Kennesaw Ga
    FB_IMG_1488428299290.jpg also installing cooler master evo when swapping cases
     
    Last edited: Mar 1, 2017
  19. dilbeckskate

    dilbeckskate infamous

    Messages:
    4,288
    Likes Received:
    424
    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2010
    Location:
    Kennesaw Ga
    I got some RGB fans, red led stips, and my other board was crashing bad under load not providing enough power to the pci slots sooo fack it returned the h170 and got a msi z170 m5 , and my new case will be here tomorrow FB_IMG_1488588877420.jpg
     
  20. TurboMirage

    TurboMirage YEEAAAHHH VIP

    Messages:
    25,191
    Likes Received:
    985
    Joined:
    May 20, 2003
    Location:
    Central, MA
Verification:
Draft saved Draft deleted

Share This Page