1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Built My First Gaming Pc

Discussion in 'Members' Lounge' started by dilbeckskate, Feb 19, 2017.

  1. dilbeckskate

    dilbeckskate infamous

    Messages:
    3,713
    Likes Received:
    283
    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2010
    Location:
    Kennesaw Ga
    Mmmmmm now Crossfired Dual ROG STRIX RX480 OC 8gb models FB_IMG_1489886683293.jpg
     
    TurboMirage likes this.
  2. dilbeckskate

    dilbeckskate infamous

    Messages:
    3,713
    Likes Received:
    283
    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2010
    Location:
    Kennesaw Ga
    cables managed and water cooler installed 20170402_181254.jpg
     
    TurboMirage likes this.
  3. dilbeckskate

    dilbeckskate infamous

    Messages:
    3,713
    Likes Received:
    283
    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2010
    Location:
    Kennesaw Ga
    well I figured out im somewhat limited using the skylake board with my kaby lake cpu, not only for new features such as netflix 4k, faster chipset, accepts more ram etc Im wanting to do a small atx build for my room for my tv soo tomorrow on my way home from work im going to scoop up the motherboard to match my gpu's ... oh yea and its got matching RGB :D
    https://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?item=N82E16813132928
     

    Attached Files:

  4. dilbeckskate

    dilbeckskate infamous

    Messages:
    3,713
    Likes Received:
    283
    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2010
    Location:
    Kennesaw Ga
  5. TurboMirage

    TurboMirage YEEAAAHHH VIP

    Messages:
    24,760
    Likes Received:
    786
    Joined:
    May 20, 2003
    Location:
    Central, MA
    did you already change the board out and stuff?
     
  6. dilbeckskate

    dilbeckskate infamous

    Messages:
    3,713
    Likes Received:
    283
    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2010
    Location:
    Kennesaw Ga
    im doing it after work you are just seeing the RGB from the graphics cards and water cooler
     
  7. GSRCRXsi

    GSRCRXsi Super Moderator Moderator VIP

    Messages:
    9,647
    Likes Received:
    361
    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2002
    Location:
    MD
    all this hardware and you're using just an HDD?? wtf. get an SSD for the OS man. you're just bottlnecking that thing.
     
  8. TurboMirage

    TurboMirage YEEAAAHHH VIP

    Messages:
    24,760
    Likes Received:
    786
    Joined:
    May 20, 2003
    Location:
    Central, MA
    i think he's got a little SSD thingie in there right above his platter drive. a 1TB SSD>
     
  9. GSRCRXsi

    GSRCRXsi Super Moderator Moderator VIP

    Messages:
    9,647
    Likes Received:
    361
    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2002
    Location:
    MD
    ah i see it on the first page now. he says "500 mb" but i'm assuming he means GB.
     
  10. dilbeckskate

    dilbeckskate infamous

    Messages:
    3,713
    Likes Received:
    283
    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2010
    Location:
    Kennesaw Ga
    ive got a 500 gig ssd and a 1 tb mechanical, and now have the motherboard to match my gpu's and take advantage of my 2400 mhz ram and the kaby lake processor :D time to get home and install this shiet :D I like how my $800 max original budget has now turned into 2k+... im ruhtarded but now have everything but cpu/ram for my room pc build 20170404_171203.jpg
     
  11. dilbeckskate

    dilbeckskate infamous

    Messages:
    3,713
    Likes Received:
    283
    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2010
    Location:
    Kennesaw Ga
    andddd this board supports 3 way crossfire..no scott goddamn it you dont need a 3rd gpu
     
  12. dilbeckskate

    dilbeckskate infamous

    Messages:
    3,713
    Likes Received:
    283
    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2010
    Location:
    Kennesaw Ga
    anddd its done... and case modded to make radiator fit in front, looks titties 20170404_210602.jpg
     
  13. GSRCRXsi

    GSRCRXsi Super Moderator Moderator VIP

    Messages:
    9,647
    Likes Received:
    361
    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2002
    Location:
    MD
    i'd move the CPU cooler to the top fans. that way you're not blowing warm air on your GPUs
     
  14. GSRCRXsi

    GSRCRXsi Super Moderator Moderator VIP

    Messages:
    9,647
    Likes Received:
    361
    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2002
    Location:
    MD
    how? i only see 2x PCIe x16 slots. and the way they are spaced, you cant fit a 3rd GPU in there.

    edit,

    i see the 3rd PCIe slot now in your earlier pic. but being in the 7th slot, you cant fit a 3rd 2-slot GPU in there. it would only work if you had benching station that was open and not enclosed in a case.
     
  15. TurboMirage

    TurboMirage YEEAAAHHH VIP

    Messages:
    24,760
    Likes Received:
    786
    Joined:
    May 20, 2003
    Location:
    Central, MA
    pfft you only need to output from one card anywys lol
     
  16. dilbeckskate

    dilbeckskate infamous

    Messages:
    3,713
    Likes Received:
    283
    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2010
    Location:
    Kennesaw Ga
    ok I think I might buy the asus rog dual bay gaming display to match my board gpus and since im not using the optical bays, ok moved the cooler to the front as a exhaust fan and lowered temps moderately , and yes I have to go to a full size atx case to go 3 way crossfire currently im on a mid size atx
     

    Attached Files:

  17. dilbeckskate

    dilbeckskate infamous

    Messages:
    3,713
    Likes Received:
    283
    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2010
    Location:
    Kennesaw Ga
    also there are 2 120mm Corsair high volume fans on side panel as intake for the gpu's
     
  18. TurboMirage

    TurboMirage YEEAAAHHH VIP

    Messages:
    24,760
    Likes Received:
    786
    Joined:
    May 20, 2003
    Location:
    Central, MA
    Lol that display.
     
  19. GSRCRXsi

    GSRCRXsi Super Moderator Moderator VIP

    Messages:
    9,647
    Likes Received:
    361
    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2002
    Location:
    MD
    still wont physically fit unless he moves his PSU somewhere else.

    and then he's starving the middle card for air
     
  20. GSRCRXsi

    GSRCRXsi Super Moderator Moderator VIP

    Messages:
    9,647
    Likes Received:
    361
    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2002
    Location:
    MD
    "full" or "mid" ATX is irrelevant.

    ATX form factor specs 7 PCI expansion slots and most cases will only have 7. the way your MB is, you need an "8th" slot for a dual size card. some cases have it, some cases dont. but its not true to the ATX form factor. just be mindful of it.
     
Verification:
Draft saved Draft deleted

Share This Page