1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Bypass the Main Relay on a CRX?

Discussion in 'General Tech and Maintenance' started by riceracerex, Nov 7, 2009.

  1. riceracerex

    riceracerex D-Series Ninja

    Messages:
    645
    Likes Received:
    12
    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2009
    Location:
    Pryor, Ok
    Question has been haunting me...
    The Relays I have used in my Rex suck. Even OEM Relays go out all of the time in this thing and I am stuck switching them around or replacing them. I was wondering if there is a way to bypass the main relay so you do not have to deal with its tantrums when it does not want to start. I have seen performance relays lately at Auto Zone but don't know if I could rewire them. I went as far as using a relay from a dsm and it eventually went south. I know there is a way to solder certain points but don't know if it is a permanent fix or not. Thanks Guys...:ph34r:
     
  2. 90si2

    90si2 New Member

    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2009
    theres really no way to bypass the main relay because no mater what your gonna need a relay in its place so that your car will start
     
  3. awptickes

    awptickes unimpressed by you VIP

    Messages:
    9,279
    Likes Received:
    500
    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2007
    Location:
    MD
    If you'd just buy a brand new relay, instead of stealing one from a junkyard, you'd be in a lot better shape.
     
  4. K2e2vin

    K2e2vin Senior Member

    Messages:
    8,446
    Likes Received:
    92
    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2003
    Location:
    Raleigh, NC
    Or re-solder an old one.
     
  5. riceracerex

    riceracerex D-Series Ninja

    Messages:
    645
    Likes Received:
    12
    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2009
    Location:
    Pryor, Ok
    :mellow: The main relay in my 90 si does not have the same soldering points as the older style. It is more close to one from an eclipse and even in hot weather a brand new relay can stop working. Why is it that a 92+ Civic never has this problem? Would you be able to do a conversion of some sort? Thanks for any and all ideas!
     
  6. INJEN78

    INJEN78 HS LEGEND

    Messages:
    9,187
    Likes Received:
    121
    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2007
    Location:
    OHIO
    im pretty sure the relay from an obd1 car will work..or just go by brand new and get the warranty
     
  7. K2e2vin

    K2e2vin Senior Member

    Messages:
    8,446
    Likes Received:
    92
    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2003
    Location:
    Raleigh, NC
  8. Magana559

    Magana559 The Warden

    Messages:
    2,568
    Likes Received:
    42
    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2008
    Location:
    fresno Ca
  9. efhondakid

    efhondakid My name is Byron. VIP

    Messages:
    7,034
    Likes Received:
    202
    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2007
    Location:
    Akron-Canton, Ohio
    I had both in my EF and EG go out about two years ago, replace them with brand new ones and havent had troble with them since. And yes the OBD0 and OBDI relays are different.
     
  10. riceracerex

    riceracerex D-Series Ninja

    Messages:
    645
    Likes Received:
    12
    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2009
    Location:
    Pryor, Ok
    I think this thread is about to solve my summer heat / stranded, no start, problem and a help out a ton of crx/civic owners. Here is a pic of one of my relay's. They differ from the ones pictured in the link provided above and they do not have the soldering points like what you guys are thinking. I don't want to solder into a copper spool? :confused: When it's Hawt, I just take one from under the seat and swap it out, if that one did not work I had a backup for my backup. If you look closely, you can see a small resistor?

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]


    THNX DUDES.
     
  11. efhondakid

    efhondakid My name is Byron. VIP

    Messages:
    7,034
    Likes Received:
    202
    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2007
    Location:
    Akron-Canton, Ohio
    Thats not the main relay, the main relay has 7 pins in it IIRC.
     
  12. riceracerex

    riceracerex D-Series Ninja

    Messages:
    645
    Likes Received:
    12
    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2009
    Location:
    Pryor, Ok
    Then what is it? I bought two from AutoZone and they said it was a main relay. I also pulled the old one from under the hood latch exactly where the relay supposedly resides...:ph34r:
     
  13. K2e2vin

    K2e2vin Senior Member

    Messages:
    8,446
    Likes Received:
    92
    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2003
    Location:
    Raleigh, NC
    :werd:

    The main relay is tucked to the left of the hood release lever. HELMs even has the pinout.
     
  14. yankeekid

    yankeekid New Member

    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2008
    yes you can bypass the main relay I have done it a couple of times all you have to do is run a 12v wire to the y/b wire that comes from the relay the one that is all the way to the left by itself the only thing is if you do that the pump will stay on so u have to ither put a switch or just unwire it eveytime u turn off your car I did it to my ef but only for temporary fix its not going to give you any problems just that dont like hack jobs but sometimes you got to do what you got to do :cool:
     
  15. riceracerex

    riceracerex D-Series Ninja

    Messages:
    645
    Likes Received:
    12
    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2009
    Location:
    Pryor, Ok
    Thanks yankeekid and welcome to honda swap.
     
Verification:
Draft saved Draft deleted

Share This Page