1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

CA Failed smog test with BAR'd 2000 GSR swap Civic 2000

Discussion in 'Civic and del Sol - EG and EK' started by Noodler, Oct 3, 2009.

  1. Noodler

    Noodler New Member

    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2009
    I just failed a smog test today.

    Theres 3 fails.

    RESULT ECS
    FAIL- MIL

    HC (PPM) 15MPH
    MAX: 60
    AVE: 9
    MEAS: 72

    THIS VEHICLE FAILED THE MIL/CHECK ENGINE LIGHT DUE TO OBD COMMUNICATION FAILURE.


    I just bought the car and was told it passed smog. I can see that it wasn't too bad of a fail. The swap passed BAR w/sticker and the smog tech's visual.

    The ECU is a P75 which I think is from an LS with a jumper harness.
    I think this link is what the harness looks like https://www.jhpusa.com/store/pc/viewPrd.asp?idcategory=122&idproduct=2040

    But heres a picture of the actual harness and ECU.
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]

    The ECU is probably converted for VTEC. It hits VTEC


    I only drove about 2 miles to the smog station from the first start up of the day. Could this be the reason behind the HC (PPM)?

    I plan to buy a GSR OBD2 ECU tomorrow to replace the LS ECU. Will I be able to hook up a the GSR ECU to my original pins without the harness?

    Can the the failure to communicate with the OBD by caused by the LS ECU being converted/OBD1?
     
  2. Noodler

    Noodler New Member

    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2009
    And the MIL (Malfunction Indicator Light) failed, I really don't know the reason, the CEL isn't on, when I start up the car, it turns on and off like the others.
     
    Last edited: Nov 8, 2009
  3. eg6sir

    eg6sir Supa Mod Moderator VIP

    Messages:
    21,703
    Likes Received:
    321
    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2005
    Location:
    661 BK CA
    the HC levels tell me that either the cat or o2 sensor is no good.. in CA they have repair assistance program if you fail smog... i had to do it w/ my bar'd b16 hatch
     
  4. klyph

    klyph Dismember VIP

    Messages:
    6,342
    Likes Received:
    262
    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2006
    Location:
    North Pole, AK
    Also, you've got a huge unshielded hot wire going over the ECU wires. That could cause interference.
     
  5. Ethan

    Ethan Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    2,945
    Likes Received:
    98
    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2008
    you make me happy to not live in cali... :)
     
  6. 94civicturbo

    94civicturbo New Member

    Messages:
    1,477
    Likes Received:
    23
    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2008
    Location:
    Liberty, IN
    :concur:
     
  7. Noodler

    Noodler New Member

    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2009
    makes me cry to know that i could have moved to texas.
     
  8. reikoshea

    reikoshea HS Troll...And Mod Moderator VIP

    Messages:
    12,633
    Likes Received:
    193
    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2005
    Location:
    San Antonio, TX
    you should. really, i swear they barely do an emissions check here, they check tire tread and that your horn works. If you can pass those 3 in texas you can drive.

    Oklahoma on the other hand.....no inspection AT ALL! mwahahaha
     
  9. Noodler

    Noodler New Member

    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2009
    o btw, what obd is my engine harness? obd2a or obd2b?
     
  10. Noodler

    Noodler New Member

    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2009
    stupid lagging internet. Well it looks like the reason why the computer isn't reading the ECU is because the ECU is OBD1. Looked up some info on the ECU number and it seems like its a 94 LS OBD1 ECU. Would having a OBD1 ECU cause the smog tech's scanner not be able to communicate with the ECU?
     
  11. Ethan

    Ethan Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    2,945
    Likes Received:
    98
    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2008
    seems to me you have a obd2 car with a obd1 brain.... you'll have to find out what obd2 ecu you can run and get it.
     
  12. reikoshea

    reikoshea HS Troll...And Mod Moderator VIP

    Messages:
    12,633
    Likes Received:
    193
    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2005
    Location:
    San Antonio, TX
    yes. definitely.

    you got lucky. CA bar usually picks up shit like obd1 ecu in an obd2 car. That is a GIANT no no on your bar inspection and should have gotten you failed. Definitely need an OBD2 ecu to pass smog because their tool has to register with ecu in anything > 96.
     
  13. Ethan

    Ethan Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    2,945
    Likes Received:
    98
    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2008
    Isnt it actually illegal to run a obd1 ecu in a obd2 car? like get arrested?
     
  14. Noodler

    Noodler New Member

    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2009
    i didnt get the car bar'd, im pretty sure the owner who got it bar'd had the right stuff in it. But now i know my problem and i'll just get it fixed. thanks for the replies.
     
  15. alEXej8

    alEXej8 New Member

    Messages:
    236
    Likes Received:
    2
    Joined:
    May 5, 2007
    Location:
    Hubbardston, MASS
    You will need an obd-2b ECU for a direct plug in. If you get a GSR ecu it has an immobilizer in it so you wont be able to start your car unless you remove the immobilizer. But if it gets removed you get a check engine light. SO the easiest way for it to pass correctly is get an ECU from a 99-00 Si.
     
  16. Noodler

    Noodler New Member

    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2009
    would the 99-00 si ecu run lean? i want to get it right the first time.
     
  17. eg6sir

    eg6sir Supa Mod Moderator VIP

    Messages:
    21,703
    Likes Received:
    321
    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2005
    Location:
    661 BK CA
    you need an obd2b p72 w/ the immobilizer removed..
     
  18. Ethan

    Ethan Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    2,945
    Likes Received:
    98
    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2008
    Listen to him.
     
  19. Noodler

    Noodler New Member

    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2009
    i plan on getting the obd2b gsr ecu with the immo removed and replaced by katman
     
  20. eg6sir

    eg6sir Supa Mod Moderator VIP

    Messages:
    21,703
    Likes Received:
    321
    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2005
    Location:
    661 BK CA
    that should fix you right up.. if you still have high HC readings check the voltage on your o2.. if its ok, you need a new cat
     
Verification:
Draft saved Draft deleted

Share This Page