1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Cam Torque

Discussion in 'Engine Building' started by reckedracing, Oct 28, 2005.

  1. reckedracing

    reckedracing TTIWWOP VIP

    Messages:
    21,056
    Likes Received:
    1,180
    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2002
    Location:
    NY
    What do you guys use to torque the cam to spec?
     
  2. B16RacerN2NR

    B16RacerN2NR Working Hard VIP

    Messages:
    6,148
    Likes Received:
    99
    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2003
    Location:
    Moving back West...
    I use a Torque Wrench [​IMG]
     
  3. reckedracing

    reckedracing TTIWWOP VIP

    Messages:
    21,056
    Likes Received:
    1,180
    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2002
    Location:
    NY
    no shit

    i currently have a torque wrench that the lowest setting is 10 lb

    but the 6mm bolts only need 9lb

    so i was wondering what torque wrench to get
    i think 9 ft/lbs = 108 inch pounds

    i guess what i mean is what kinda torque wrench do you guys use for cam specs
     
  4. B16RacerN2NR

    B16RacerN2NR Working Hard VIP

    Messages:
    6,148
    Likes Received:
    99
    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2003
    Location:
    Moving back West...
    well you did ask WHAT people were using...

    I would torque it down to 10 lbs... then take a ratchet and back it off a bit, 1 lbs over torque is not gonna hurt the cam cap at all, I can vouche for that.
     
  5. reckedracing

    reckedracing TTIWWOP VIP

    Messages:
    21,056
    Likes Received:
    1,180
    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2002
    Location:
    NY
    my friend said the last time he did it he used a 10 ft lb wrench and the cam was so tight the starter couldn't even turn the motor over... [​IMG]
     
  6. B16RacerN2NR

    B16RacerN2NR Working Hard VIP

    Messages:
    6,148
    Likes Received:
    99
    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2003
    Location:
    Moving back West...
    he's bullshitting you because the very first time I put cams in, I hit them with an impact gun lol the guy drove around for about 3 months and came back for me to install some type r cams that he bought, luckily that time around I knew EXACTLY what I was doing.

    try going to 10lbs, then go back a 1/4 turn
     
  7. Xaero3953

    Xaero3953 Senior Member

    Messages:
    601
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2005
    Location:
    Ft. Worth, TX
    I have a pretty old torque wrench, it's a craftsman, that doesn't click, nor ratchet <-sp? but it has two bars that connect over the socket, one is a handle, the smaller a needle that measures on a small meter, it only goes up to like 85 lbs, but also does 1 lb/ft, but also 1 Nm.
     
  8. DelSlo

    DelSlo Senior Member

    Messages:
    438
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2004
    i got a small craftsman that goes to 20 ft lbs and i got a larger new mastercraft that torques to 250. actually a pretty decent torque wrench for not having to buy a 500$ snap on one.

    and for inch lbs to FT lbs, depending on what you are doing, divide or multiply by 12.

    eg. 144inch lbs. 144 / 12 = 12ft lbs.

    10 ft lbs x 12 = 120 inch lbs!

    :)
    happy torquing!
     
  9. reckedracing

    reckedracing TTIWWOP VIP

    Messages:
    21,056
    Likes Received:
    1,180
    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2002
    Location:
    NY
    yup, i think i'll be going to sears to get a small one that only goes to 20 lbs
     
  10. reckedracing

    reckedracing TTIWWOP VIP

    Messages:
    21,056
    Likes Received:
    1,180
    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2002
    Location:
    NY
    inch pound clicker torque wrench at sears was only 65 bucks

    3/8 drive
    25 to 250 inch pounds
     
Verification:
Draft saved Draft deleted

Share This Page