1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Can I get by with just a longblock?????

Discussion in 'HYBRID -> ED-EF / DA' started by 91jdmteg, Dec 8, 2005.

  1. 91jdmteg

    91jdmteg Senior Member

    Messages:
    221
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2005
    I have a 91 Integra with a stock B18a1 and I'm wanting to swap it for a 1st gen B16a, I know I'd be able to use alot of parts off of my b18. Could I just buy a b16 longblock and use my tranny,axles, for this??? I know I'll need the pr3 ecu but I can get one of those locally. If I did get just a longblock what all would I have to use off the b18 in order to make the swap work??? Or is it with the extra cash for the complete swap?? Thanks in advance.
     
  2. VTECPOWER

    VTECPOWER Senior Member

    Messages:
    1,683
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2003
    Location:
    Winchester, VA
    Yes tranny and axles would work fine, just the b16 tranny is shorter geared, and the only things you wire would be for vtec. Wire them to the ecu and put them in the correct pin outs.
     
  3. SlushboxTeggy

    SlushboxTeggy It's only stupid if it doesn't work VIP

    Messages:
    9,392
    Likes Received:
    245
    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2004
    Location:
    New Jersey
    remove b18a

    replace with b16

    build b18a bottom

    put b16 head on top.
     
  4. brian11to1

    brian11to1 Senior Member

    Messages:
    9,203
    Likes Received:
    21
    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2003
    yea, you can can simply just swap longblocks.
     
  5. 91jdmteg

    91jdmteg Senior Member

    Messages:
    221
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2005
    My tranny would be o.k.???
     
  6. phunky.buddha

    phunky.buddha Admin with a big stick Admin VIP

    Messages:
    28,465
    Likes Received:
    228
    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2002
    Location:
    Dallas / Fort Worth, TX
  7. 91jdmteg

    91jdmteg Senior Member

    Messages:
    221
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2005
    what all exactly would I have to take off my b18 and swap to the b16 in order for it to work right?
     
  8. brian11to1

    brian11to1 Senior Member

    Messages:
    9,203
    Likes Received:
    21
    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2003
Verification:
Draft saved Draft deleted

Share This Page