1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Can I put vtec on my SOHC ZC?

Discussion in 'Civic and CRX - EF' started by 90hatcher, Dec 21, 2006.

  1. 90hatcher

    90hatcher street racer

    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2006
    Location:
    Phoenix Arizona
    aite i have 1990 hatchback wit a SOHC ZC engine on it. I dont have much money right now for a swap so i was thinking on just puttin a vtec head on it and making it vtec. so i wanted to know if it is possible to do this?
     
    Last edited: Dec 21, 2006
  2. AHHVTEC

    AHHVTEC Well-Known Member VIP

    Messages:
    13,122
    Likes Received:
    245
    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2006
    Location:
    Alabama
    no the vtech has a diffrent type of ring lol i had to man i know the boss has already told you that but its vtec lol
     
  3. 90hatcher

    90hatcher street racer

    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2006
    Location:
    Phoenix Arizona
    yea i keep messin it up but i fixed now. but can anybody asnwer me
     
  4. phunky.buddha

    phunky.buddha Admin with a big stick Admin VIP

    Messages:
    28,465
    Likes Received:
    228
    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2002
    Location:
    Dallas / Fort Worth, TX
    It's identical to putting a VTEC head on a D16A6.
     
  5. 90hatcher

    90hatcher street racer

    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2006
    Location:
    Phoenix Arizona
    oh aite so if i put the vtec head, wat kind of computer would be the best to make the car better? oh yea does anybody out there knw how to put in a vtec head? i was plannin on doin it myself wit a couple of friends but everybody ive asked so far said that its not the easy wiring up the vtec
     
  6. 90hatcher

    90hatcher street racer

    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2006
    Location:
    Phoenix Arizona
    ok so would the best thing to do is get a D16A6 VTEC head and put it on my ZC? would there be a big power difference?
     
  7. 1991hb

    1991hb New Member

    Messages:
    26
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2006
    a d16a6 does not have vtec...you would have to head from a d16z6 or a d16y8. Like they said, there are plenty of write ups on this...just search for mini-me swap
     
Verification:
Draft saved Draft deleted

Share This Page