1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Can someon explaine how cams affect piston-valve contact?

Discussion in 'Engine Building' started by BigBoy, Jan 9, 2006.

  1. BigBoy

    BigBoy Senior Member

    Messages:
    168
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    May 10, 2005
    Location:
    cali 818
    Do they? Also, i dont see how a valve will hit a piston if the top of the piston dome sits beneath the top of the block. Im planning to mill my b16 head about .030 which puts me at a -.001 according to c-speed.
     
  2. civicious

    civicious FüK-VTEC VIP

    Messages:
    9,855
    Likes Received:
    629
    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2003
    Location:
    Houston, TX
    Yes, they do. A bigger cam lobe will open your valves more, causing the valve to come closer to the head of the piston when the piston is at TDC. If you mill the head too much, and run too big of a cam, you risk smashing the valves into the head of the piston.
     
  3. reikoshea

    reikoshea HS Troll...And Mod Moderator VIP

    Messages:
    12,633
    Likes Received:
    193
    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2005
    Location:
    San Antonio, TX
    couldnt have said it better myself. In Interfearance engines (like hondas) valves and pistons occupy the same space at different times. if you have a high lift cam, the piston can smack the valve and bend it. thats what happends when a timing belt breaks...just FYI.
     
  4. civicious

    civicious FüK-VTEC VIP

    Messages:
    9,855
    Likes Received:
    629
    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2003
    Location:
    Houston, TX
  5. reikoshea

    reikoshea HS Troll...And Mod Moderator VIP

    Messages:
    12,633
    Likes Received:
    193
    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2005
    Location:
    San Antonio, TX
    lol, on break at work...no spell check time for reiko...i just guestimated.
     
  6. Dark91zc

    Dark91zc Senior Member

    Messages:
    283
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2004
    Location:
    Corona,CA
    even on stock honda engines they are interfence engines
     
  7. reikoshea

    reikoshea HS Troll...And Mod Moderator VIP

    Messages:
    12,633
    Likes Received:
    193
    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2005
    Location:
    San Antonio, TX
    if that was a question, the answer is yes.
     
  8. BigBoy

    BigBoy Senior Member

    Messages:
    168
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    May 10, 2005
    Location:
    cali 818
    OK, im running skunk2 stage 2 cams on a b16 with 1 layer oem gasket. Its leaking right now so when i replace it, im planning on milling the head some. Will i be ok milling .030?
     
  9. reikoshea

    reikoshea HS Troll...And Mod Moderator VIP

    Messages:
    12,633
    Likes Received:
    193
    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2005
    Location:
    San Antonio, TX
    umm, i think youd be okay with a 3 layer gasket, but im gonna need someone to back me up on that.
     
  10. civicious

    civicious FüK-VTEC VIP

    Messages:
    9,855
    Likes Received:
    629
    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2003
    Location:
    Houston, TX
    :withstupid:

    You should be fine.
     
  11. olddude

    olddude Junior Member

    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2006
    Try putting some clay (plastercine) on top of your piston , put the head on ,with a couple of bolts , and then put belt back on and turn the motor over by hand a couple of times . (Mock up )

    you will see where the valves squeezes the clay and can tell where you might run into problems by checking the thickness of the clay where the valve squishes it on the piston top.

    Or you could just hope for the best??
     
  12. civicious

    civicious FüK-VTEC VIP

    Messages:
    9,855
    Likes Received:
    629
    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2003
    Location:
    Houston, TX
    [​IMG]
     
Verification:
Draft saved Draft deleted

Share This Page