1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Car idles real high

Discussion in 'General Tech and Maintenance' started by Apocalypse, Feb 24, 2004.

  1. Apocalypse

    Apocalypse Junior Member

    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2004
    Just like the title says. Swapped a B16 SiR 2 in my 5th Gen Civic and it is idling REALLY high. How do I go about fixing it? Thanks in advance for the help B)
     
  2. E_SolSi

    E_SolSi Member of the 20 nut club Moderator VIP

    Messages:
    30,036
    Likes Received:
    3,970
    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2002
    Location:
    CT
    did you just swap that engine in???
    have you let it run long enough to fully warm up???
     
  3. Apocalypse

    Apocalypse Junior Member

    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2004
    Warms up and idles at around 1200 rpm <_<
     
  4. Slammed90Lude

    Slammed90Lude Senior Member

    Messages:
    3,733
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2003
    Location:
    milford, PA
    intake manifold gasket? just an idea- that made my lude idle high for 3 monthes and then it ended up causing a real irratic idle- just an idea though!?
     
  5. highperboi

    highperboi Senior Member

    Messages:
    971
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2002
    Location:
    Alameda, California
    tighten the idle screw all the way? check for loose vacume lines?
     
  6. Apocalypse

    Apocalypse Junior Member

    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2004
    Have a spare IM gasket, so I might put that on if nothing else helps since it can be kind of a PITA. Where's the idle screw? All my lines are hooked up. There's a line coming off the PCV valve that has nowhere to go, though. <_< I looked and looked and couldn't find somewhere for it to go....any ideas on that?
     
  7. highperboi

    highperboi Senior Member

    Messages:
    971
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2002
    Location:
    Alameda, California
    the idle screw is on the throttle body. hmm dont know about the pcv vlave tho.
     
  8. CRseX84

    CRseX84 Senior Member

    Messages:
    481
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2003
    Location:
    SUNY Canton College, NY.
    yea my boy just swaped a GSR into his G2 and his idles at like 2,500 and he relized a few vac hoses were in the wrong place. get a vacume hose diagram. and make sure ur hooked up right. good luck
    Tyler
     
  9. hybrid89

    hybrid89 thistownsucks...

    Messages:
    1,821
    Likes Received:
    1
    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2003
    Location:
    SoCal
    also check the tension on the throttle cable. If it is even a little too tight, it will open the TB just enough to fuck with your idle. just another idea. 1st place I go cause its the easiest fix.s. would be vacuum lines.3. Intake manifold/gasket.

    matt
     
  10. Apocalypse

    Apocalypse Junior Member

    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2004
    Ok, I'm not throwing any codes except my O2 sensor code <_< But anyway, I unplugged the IACV, revs went down to about normal, but it isn't throwing the code. Hmm. About the bypass screw, I don't see one anywhere on the TB. Could it be because I had to use the D-series one, or should there be a screw on there, too? The throttle cable is fine, too. About the vaccuum lines, does anyone have a diagram?
     
  11. pills_PMD

    pills_PMD Super Moderator

    Messages:
    4,232
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2002
    Location:
    New Albany, OH
    fix the o2 sensor.

    and its not the IAC valve.. the idle screw is brass and it is on d series throttle bodies also..
     
  12. Apocalypse

    Apocalypse Junior Member

    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2004
    Well, I replaced teh o2, but it's still throwing the code, so I think it might be the piggy tail or whatever the hell you call it that plugs into the o2. Know anywhere I could get just that without having to buy a whole new harness? o2 sensor wouldn't cause it to idle that high, would it? Thanks for the help, guys. B)
     
  13. swanny

    swanny Senior Member

    Messages:
    3,779
    Likes Received:
    1
    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2003
    Location:
    buck teeth and government checks, PA
  14. Accordturbo94

    Accordturbo94 Senior Member

    Messages:
    920
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2002
  15. aznboysrfr

    aznboysrfr Junior Member

    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2004
    Location:
    Aliso Viejo/Laguna Niguel, Cali
    check your spark plugs ... if they are too loose or too tight, it'll idle funny ... mine stock motor idled at 1800 until I found out what was wrong. Kinda strange starting in 1st gear without having to press the gas :huh:
     
Verification:
Draft saved Draft deleted

Share This Page