Car Payments Qusetions

We may earn a small commission from affiliate links and paid advertisements. Terms

YouKnowWhoIBee

my avatar is better.
I am new to car loans, never had one in my life till november. I started paying more towards the loan every month on the Jeep, and watched the payments go from 268 to about 240. After 3 months, i presume i paid about 1000 more then the minimum. So about 20 bucks per 100 i feel is a good "estimate". Right now my payment on the Fusion is 469 a month. If i were to call my bank, and make a 4,000 dollar payment towards principle... would that decrese my monthly payment? Or will my payment stay the same and take off of the duration of months on my loan. So instead of 60 months... maybe 57?

The reason why i say this, is because my tax return comes in soon, and i am getting back right around 2k for my jeep's extended warrenty. I will have 4,000 dollars to play with. So should i pay off 50% of my revolving debt, or put it towards the car?

Cliff Notes
*will payin gmore towards car loan decrease payments? or duration of loan?
*should i take 4k and put it towards my car or credit cards?

*edit - myspacebar at work sucks :( sorry in advance.

Last edited:
changing payments is a rare thing. I've never seen it before.

if you do a lump sum, you will simply end early, not lower your payment.
you will need to re-finance to do that.

as for the CC debt... chances are its much higher interst than the car loan. Put it towards that.

as for the CC debt... chances are its much higher interst than the car loan. Put it towards that.

+1

Put $1000 in an emergency fund. List your debts from smallest to largest, and pay them down as far as it will go. Get off of the credit companie's nipple, its feeding you poison.