1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

CEL code 22 (vtec oil pressure)

Discussion in 'ECU's, Electronics, and Tuning' started by 93civicjaydm, Feb 1, 2005.

  1. 93civicjaydm

    93civicjaydm Junior Member

    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2005
    I have a 93 civic with a b16 swap. I put in a vafc2 and it threw a code 21 and 22. I took it out and now it is throwing a code 22. I did all of the check the haynes manuel says to do and it is still on. there is a rev limiter at 6500. HELP!!!!!
     
  2. projectxspeed

    projectxspeed Senior Member

    Messages:
    1,380
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2003
    Location:
    New Hampshire
    What have you tried so far?
     
  3. projekteg

    projekteg Senior Member

    Messages:
    311
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2004
    have you tried resetting the ecu?
     
  4. pissedoffsol

    pissedoffsol RETIRED

    Messages:
    49,693
    Likes Received:
    54
    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2002
    Location:
    Retirement Home
    did you have the code before you wired in the vafc?

    if not, chances are you wired something wrong- and when you removed it, you removed it wrong too. double check that
     
  5. 93civicjaydm

    93civicjaydm Junior Member

    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2005


    it did not throw a code untill i installed the vafc. After i took it out, i reconnected all of the wires the way that they should be. I did pull the back up fuse and unhooked the ecu for about 20 min and it still is throwing a code. I check for continuity and everything and i still cannot figure it out.
     
  6. pissedoffsol

    pissedoffsol RETIRED

    Messages:
    49,693
    Likes Received:
    54
    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2002
    Location:
    Retirement Home
    turn the car on, and drive it around under 4k rpms for a little bit.. see if it clears it. do NOT attempt to hit vtec.

    when you get back home, remove neg bat terminal, turn on lights, turn off lights (drains the system of any left over current) and put the negative batter back on.

    turn key to "on" position, and see if the light goes away.

    if it does, go out again, and this time attempt the hit vtec.
    if, at 4800 rpms, or whatever ecu you have says its vtec time, and it fails- its NOT the sensor nor the wiring- it means its not getting enough oil pressure.

    go home. turn the car off.
    check your oil level, your filter, hell, change both.

    then repeat the above again.

    if you still have the same problem, you might have a problem with your oil pump or bearing clearences
     
  7. 93civicjaydm

    93civicjaydm Junior Member

    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2005

    Thanks for your help, im going to try that right now. I'll let you know how it turns out
     
  8. Taco15

    Taco15 I wear stretchy pants VIP

    Messages:
    6,998
    Likes Received:
    203
    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2005
    Location:
    Tallahassee Fl
    "go home. turn the car off.
    check your oil level, your filter, hell, change both."



    QUICK QUESTION... can there be too much oil? I put 5 quarts in and the vtec hit the first couple days. now it wont hit.
     
  9. pissedoffsol

    pissedoffsol RETIRED

    Messages:
    49,693
    Likes Received:
    54
    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2002
    Location:
    Retirement Home
    its possible... but even if its not- take out a wuart. christ. you shouldn't even be asking these types of questions :D
     
  10. Taco15

    Taco15 I wear stretchy pants VIP

    Messages:
    6,998
    Likes Received:
    203
    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2005
    Location:
    Tallahassee Fl

    :shrug2: :bonk:
     
  11. Taco15

    Taco15 I wear stretchy pants VIP

    Messages:
    6,998
    Likes Received:
    203
    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2005
    Location:
    Tallahassee Fl

    LADYS AND GENTS WE HAVE VTEC! well i fixed the problem. it was the speed sensor that was loose from the g.cluster. i never would of guessed. sorry i asked the stupid question but hey thats how you learn right? Thanks again
     
Verification:
Draft saved Draft deleted

Share This Page