1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Cell phone cloning? know anything about it?

Discussion in 'Members' Lounge' started by Dustin_m, Feb 22, 2008.

  1. Dustin_m

    Dustin_m Active Member

    Messages:
    4,603
    Likes Received:
    16
    Joined:
    May 21, 2003
    Location:
    San Diego, CA
    I just had a random call to my cell a while ago.
    me: hello?
    guy: is this anthony?
    me: no
    guy: oh, well i got this # from a "clone list"
    me: ok? and... whats that?
    guy: I'm wondering if this number is still available to be cloned
    me: i don't know wtf you are talking about.
    guy: ok, must have the wrong #
    me: ok

    I went back in the office and googled cell phone cloning, and found out that it's possible to get someones sim info and use the info to place calls on the account.

    has anyone ever heard of this or know anyting about it? I'm just wondering how likely it is that this douchbag might try to use my account.

    I called AT&T and they noted my account, and i gave them the # the guy called from. They traced it to Cox Communications, so I am considering placing a complaint w/ them.
     
  2. awptickes

    awptickes unimpressed by you VIP

    Messages:
    9,274
    Likes Received:
    497
    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2007
    Location:
    MD
    I'd force at&t to give you a new sim.

    Or just forget about it, because he probably doens't have the means or knowledge to clone your sim. (it's pretty close to impossible without having the actual sim card to 'clone')
     
  3. MadMaXXX

    MadMaXXX Mad Man

    Messages:
    883
    Likes Received:
    6
    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2003
    Location:
    USA
    The carrier should have a system to catch that sort of thing. Like if you make two call within minutes of each other from quite a distance they will see that it was not physically possible. You could always check your bill just in case.
     
  4. Dustin_m

    Dustin_m Active Member

    Messages:
    4,603
    Likes Received:
    16
    Joined:
    May 21, 2003
    Location:
    San Diego, CA
    yea one of the sites i found from google was a .edu and these professors were saying that at the time they were writing the article it was pretty much impossible to clone "over the air" but probably could be done.

    I'm not too worried, AT&T put notes in my account of the incident, so if anything comes up on the bill, i shouldn't have a hard time disputing it.

    It did kind of frustrate me though, so i put up a few free shit ads on craigslist and directed all the people to that phone number, lol.
     
  5. Drake

    Drake Well-Known Member VIP

    Messages:
    8,633
    Likes Received:
    420
    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2003
    I have done a little research on the topic and it seems to be that it is kind of a pain in the ass. Back in the day it was a whole lot easier. A great deal of information about the phone would be transmitted while on a call so some folks created scanners to cherry pick the information and they would burn their own "sim" cards more or less. That is my very loose and basic understanding of the practice.
     
  6. reckedracing

    reckedracing TTIWWOP VIP

    Messages:
    21,056
    Likes Received:
    1,180
    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2002
    Location:
    NY
    lmao
    nice
     
  7. Sabz5150

    Sabz5150 FALCON PUNCH!!!

    Messages:
    3,335
    Likes Received:
    41
    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2003
    Basically two things are/were needed for a proper clone "back in the day"... the NAM and ESN. The NAM is your phone number. Simple enough. The ESN is the serial number of the phone, similar to a network card's MAC address. Usually these were captured listening to the towers and then burned to an EPROM which was swapped into the phone. Motorola bagphones were excellent for this. Listening to the towers was rather easy... throwing a phone into testmode and turning on the speaker would usually let you listen to a nice stream of data. The phones were put into testmode a number of ways, most usually involving crossing certain "unused" pins on the phone's plug... whereas newer phones (StarTAC) simply required you to dial FCN 00**TESTMODE STO and that would give you the 'U5' prompt. Motorola caught on QUICK and disabled the speaker and mic controls for all but the tower channels on the little clamshell wonders. Testmode also allowed programming and "adjustments" to the phone.

















    Not that I know how this has done or ever done it before :ph34r::ph34r::ph34r:
     
  8. Dustin_m

    Dustin_m Active Member

    Messages:
    4,603
    Likes Received:
    16
    Joined:
    May 21, 2003
    Location:
    San Diego, CA
    Soo... It was YOU!

    :p
     
  9. reikoshea

    reikoshea HS Troll...And Mod Moderator VIP

    Messages:
    12,633
    Likes Received:
    193
    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2005
    Location:
    San Antonio, TX
    phreaking is a way of life :ph34r:
     
Verification:
Draft saved Draft deleted

Share This Page