1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Centrino... BFD...

Discussion in 'Computers, Games, Electronics etc' started by ScrapinSi, Feb 28, 2006.

  1. ScrapinSi

    ScrapinSi Senior Member

    Messages:
    3,292
    Likes Received:
    4
    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2003
    So I got the new laptop goin for the wife... HP Laptop w/ Centrino 1.5ghz w/ 256mb RAM & 40gb HD... So far... NOT IMPRESSED...

    Installing software, running basic applications, I am NOT IMPRESSED... I'll take my P4 3.0 heavy ass (Over 10lbs) IBM Stinkpad over it... And I HATE my stinkpad...

    Anybody else impressed with centrino? I mean what's the big hype? Other than I guess the battery life is supposed to be badass....
     
  2. kyleirwin

    kyleirwin Retired OG

    Messages:
    2,420
    Likes Received:
    2
    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2002
    Location:
    Vegas
    you need more ram. you can't do shit with 256 no more... and centrino or not, it's still only a 1.5.
     
  3. TurboMirage

    TurboMirage YEEAAAHHH VIP

    Messages:
    24,577
    Likes Received:
    696
    Joined:
    May 20, 2003
    Location:
    Central, MA
    yeah you got a value laptop idiot. you expect it to make leaps and bounds?

    the travelmate i have for sale stacks up pretty well against my p4 3.2 desktop.

    its a centrino.
     
  4. ScrapinSi

    ScrapinSi Senior Member

    Messages:
    3,292
    Likes Received:
    4
    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2003
    So my 1 1/2 year old $1100 P4 is better than this 6 month old $1300 Centrino? How do you figure? I don't expect it to be leaps and bounds, but if it is more expensive, 1/2 the speed, how do people expect to compare the 2?

    And no offense, a travelmate is a piece of shit, no matter how you look at it.
     
  5. TurboMirage

    TurboMirage YEEAAAHHH VIP

    Messages:
    24,577
    Likes Received:
    696
    Joined:
    May 20, 2003
    Location:
    Central, MA
    no, its because the cetrino is a power savings chip for increased mobility.

    and everything that isnt noah approved is a peice of shit to you.
     
  6. ScrapinSi

    ScrapinSi Senior Member

    Messages:
    3,292
    Likes Received:
    4
    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2003
    Nope... I know lots of very good quality laptops, even NO NAME laptops... And Acer isn't one of them...

    And that answers my first question... Which was "WHAT WAS THE BIG HYPE"...
     
  7. TurboMirage

    TurboMirage YEEAAAHHH VIP

    Messages:
    24,577
    Likes Received:
    696
    Joined:
    May 20, 2003
    Location:
    Central, MA
  8. Sabz5150

    Sabz5150 FALCON PUNCH!!!

    Messages:
    3,335
    Likes Received:
    41
    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2003
    Power savings. That's what Centrino does.

    Your first problem was choosing Intel for your processor. Its time to drop the "Intel Inside" and go with AMD. My 1.6GHz XP-M laptop (2200+) runs like mad. I also like the neat feature of controlling my processor voltage, frequency and power management config at will. If I need to save power, I tell the processor to run at 398MHz, its lowest setting. I'll get two to two and a half hours of battery power. In an ultraportable, that's not too bad.

    If you need even MORE power savings, go with Turion. My bud's girl got a new Turie laptop with an upgraded battery and that thing will run under normal settings for three to four hours. Now that's damn respectable.
     
  9. endlesszeal

    endlesszeal Senior Member

    Messages:
    2,670
    Likes Received:
    35
    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2002
    the centrino cant be compared to a p4, its like apples to oranges. different architecture. but its supposed to be comparable to a p4 without hyperthreading and save on battery life.

    not much into the mobile market, but all ive heard are good things about the pentium M.

    and seriously 256mb of RAM?? ouch.
     
  10. pissedoffsol

    pissedoffsol RETIRED

    Messages:
    49,693
    Likes Received:
    53
    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2002
    Location:
    Retirement Home
    AMD in my laptop FTW. :)

    yup. Centrinos are tweaked to use less power. nothing more. they aren't any faster than anything else. its a 1500. of course your p4 3.0 is going to smoke it.
     
  11. TurboMirage

    TurboMirage YEEAAAHHH VIP

    Messages:
    24,577
    Likes Received:
    696
    Joined:
    May 20, 2003
    Location:
    Central, MA
    my acer im selling contains the 2.0GHZ Pentium M Centrino.

    you can also change the processor speed in quarter increments.

    it runs for almost 4 hours on the lowest processor setting, with the screen turned up, playing a cd, wifi/lan/pcmcia/fiwire all turned on. you can turn off individual buses with the acer tools as well.
     
  12. GSRCRXsi

    GSRCRXsi Super Moderator Moderator VIP

    Messages:
    9,622
    Likes Received:
    345
    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2002
    Location:
    MD
    my laptop is a compaq. i have a p3 1.0 GHz with 512 ram and honestly it doesnt seem slow. plenty fast if you ask me. but i have like nothing on it, and all i use it for is to browse the internet and mess with car shit, lol. its pretty much just an extnesion so i can be lazy and watch tv on my couch and be on the computer at the same time, lol.
     
  13. TurboMirage

    TurboMirage YEEAAAHHH VIP

    Messages:
    24,577
    Likes Received:
    696
    Joined:
    May 20, 2003
    Location:
    Central, MA
    yeah :) i basically used the acer for all intensive purposes like burning dvds, playing rose, and bullshitting while laying in bed.
     
  14. ScrapinSi

    ScrapinSi Senior Member

    Messages:
    3,292
    Likes Received:
    4
    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2003
    So like... are you selling a laptop? Because like... I couldn't tell by EVERY REPLY IN EVERY THREAD TALKING ABOUT THE LAPTOP YOU ARE SELLING... [​IMG]

    And as far as the AMD comment... Before this centrino, i had an Athlon XP laptop about the same MHz... Seemed about the same, possibly even a little bit slower than the centrino...

    Also remember this... FOR FREE I'M NOT COMPLAINING!! :p

    And 2 - 2 1/2 hours on the lowest settings!?!?? My BRICK of a Portable Desktop gets 2 hours on the lowest settings... If I want power savings, i want 3-4 hours out of battery life... Not 2 - 2 1/2...

    Thanks for answering my question B... Centrino is just for power savings... I wasn't sure if it was like "better for wifi" or anything, because i remember that kinda being part of the "selling point" in the commercials...
     
  15. Sabz5150

    Sabz5150 FALCON PUNCH!!!

    Messages:
    3,335
    Likes Received:
    41
    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2003
    Your brick of a portable desktop also has a huge battery in it. This thing weighs less than 4 pounds and the battery is TINY. I can buy a better battery for this thing, but that's for the future. Right now this thing does all I need.
     
  16. Citizen_Insane

    Citizen_Insane Senior Member

    Messages:
    3,698
    Likes Received:
    3
    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2003
    Location:
    Minneapolis
    laptops suck. If it has less than two physical processors I refuse to rock it.
     
  17. ScrapinSi

    ScrapinSi Senior Member

    Messages:
    3,292
    Likes Received:
    4
    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2003
    Yeah... Because we all know how easily a Dual Processor machine fits underneath the seat in front of you. [​IMG]

    And the laptop is where most of the weight in my machine is... The battery actually isn't that heavy... And the power supply weighs a good 2 lbs too!
     
  18. TurboMirage

    TurboMirage YEEAAAHHH VIP

    Messages:
    24,577
    Likes Received:
    696
    Joined:
    May 20, 2003
    Location:
    Central, MA
    i used to think the same way :)

    then i realized the usefulness of powerful mobility, and there i went.
     
  19. Sabz5150

    Sabz5150 FALCON PUNCH!!!

    Messages:
    3,335
    Likes Received:
    41
    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2003
    Well that's a bit tricky in a laptop. Dual core is yer best bet there.

    As for desktops, I'm right beside you :)
     
  20. endlesszeal

    endlesszeal Senior Member

    Messages:
    2,670
    Likes Received:
    35
    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2002
    What about Dual core opteron's? I would take that over two Xeons. Does that mean you would only rock an Opteron if it was quad-core? Two dual cores on a board.

    Oh yeah, and dual core mobiles are avaliable now, abiet a USB bug that drains power. Im not sure if it has been patched.
     
Verification:
Draft saved Draft deleted

Share This Page