1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

changing a D16Y8 to a JDM D15B

Discussion in 'Engine Building' started by nik83twins, Oct 6, 2007.

  1. nik83twins

    nik83twins New Member

    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2007
    Okay, I tried to find the answers I need but really cant find them so I have turned to all you to see if I may get some insight. I have a 1997 Honda Civic EX. To be honest I'm not car savvy, im a mother of 2 year old twins. My engine went out in my car and after calling around it seems really hard to find a D16Y8 that is within a decent price range. I was able to find the D15B and some people are telling me it will work just the same but then some people are telling me it will not. Will the D15B vtec work with the ECU(I believe it is a P2P) and OBD2, or will I encounter some problems..
     
  2. gettocrx

    gettocrx Member

    Messages:
    176
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2003
    Location:
    Honolulu, HI
    Well I'm pretty sure it will work but you'll have to wire the distrubitor with OBD2 connetors and I believe there's no knock sensor on the D15B. So you'll get a Check engine light without it connected. That's pretty much all I can think of right now. Hope that helps a little!
     
    Last edited: Oct 8, 2007
  3. nik83twins

    nik83twins New Member

    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2007
    Thanks, I'm having a shop put the engine in, but most places wont put them in if you order them (probably cause they loose money) and then the few places that will dont think the D15B will work cause its a 1.5 instead of a 1.6.. All the JDM places I have called tell me that the D15B works the same as the D16Y8, other then putting a D16Y8 in is there another engine that anyone knows of that will go in better then the D15B that isnt to costly. I'm going to be selling my honda after i replace the engine (would love to keep it but it just doesnt work with twins) so i want to replace it the best but cheapest way possible.

    Also, if those are pretty much the only two problems, if i tell the shop they should know what to do right? Sorry if these are dumb questions lol (trying to educate myself lol)
     
Verification:
Draft saved Draft deleted

Share This Page