1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

check engine lights up when boosted

Discussion in 'Forced Induction' started by carl1822, Jul 26, 2010.

  1. carl1822

    carl1822 New Member

    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2010
    hi all.. I'm new to this forced induction thing and i need help from u guys.. ;)
    Ive got a stock B20B that ive recently boosted. Now the problem is, every time i accelerate pass 3k rpm, my 'engine check' indicator will light up.
    fyi, im using a small garette a/r .48 turbo, external wastegate, 400cc injectors and im tuning using apexi neo.
    me and my friend have fine tuned the a/f ratio using the innovate wide band sensor/meter and everything seems ok. we just cant figure out what the problem is:confused:. every time the 'CE' lights up, the Afr will return to stock and I'll be running lean.. however, if i restart the engine, the CE will disappear and the Afr will return to the setting on the apexi neo. please help me.
    oh ya.. the engine is on my CRV rd1 and its auto.:D im boosting @ 8 psi
     
  2. 99sidude

    99sidude Moderator Moderator VIP

    Messages:
    3,707
    Likes Received:
    170
    Joined:
    May 1, 2006
    Location:
    Ohio
    Check the code to see what it is. My guess is either the map sensor or cylinder misfire. Weird that it is running lean. Usually when it goes into limp mode it will run rich.
     
  3. Briansol

    Briansol Admins Admin VIP

    Messages:
    21,456
    Likes Received:
    2,117
    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2007
    Location:
    CT
    yup, sounds like a map issue. Are you using a map clamp/check valve of some sort?
     
  4. carl1822

    carl1822 New Member

    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2010
    thanks for the tips guys.. will get my car diagnose tomorrow to get whats the error code. will also look into the map sensor. maybe need to change it from vacuum to pressure sensor.
    i also dunno why it ran lean in limp mode, but the wideband reading was 15 to 17.

    B, im not using any map clamp.but maybe i need to install one check valve on the sensor, right?

    is there any posibility that the problem came from the transmission?
     
  5. turboef87

    turboef87 New Member

    Messages:
    77
    Likes Received:
    1
    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2009
    Location:
    508
    what motor is the car in i had the same problem ur stock map sensor dont like boost..do u get cut off like once u hit a certain amount of boost ??? if u have an older body car with the map sensor on the firewall u can use the check valves from autozone but if its a newer year with the map on the throttle body u need to get the missing link check valve by snyapse i think thats how u spell it its like 60 or 70 bucks
     
  6. Briansol

    Briansol Admins Admin VIP

    Messages:
    21,456
    Likes Received:
    2,117
    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2007
    Location:
    CT
    The stock map sensor can READ up to 11 psi. But, the factory ECU throws a code when it reads over 1 or 2 psi because there's no fuel tables for it.

    You should really chip/socket your ecu and run something like crome on it for tuning. You can' just lop bigger injectors on a car and except it to run.
     
  7. carl1822

    carl1822 New Member

    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2010

    Crv rd1 b20b.
    no, glad there's no cut off..
    my map sensor is on the TB, but maybe i can move it and link it to another vacuum + a check valve (seal the previous spot with a plate or somethin). :D
     
  8. Briansol

    Briansol Admins Admin VIP

    Messages:
    21,456
    Likes Received:
    2,117
    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2007
    Location:
    CT
    vac is vac.... its a system. doesn't really matter where you get it from.
     
  9. turboef87

    turboef87 New Member

    Messages:
    77
    Likes Received:
    1
    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2009
    Location:
    508
    get the missing link from synapse it goes in between your throttle body and and map sensor ur setup is fine with the afc its not the best way to have a tune but thats the only way to control the injectors with out a chip
     
  10. carl1822

    carl1822 New Member

    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2010
    thanks for all the good info guys. really appreciate it.
    went for the diagnosis today. turns out it really was the map sensor (voltage was high). guess i really have to get those missing link.
    will post result very soon..
     
  11. 95EGCoupeVtec

    95EGCoupeVtec SOHC VTEC at its best

    Messages:
    403
    Likes Received:
    1
    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2008
    Location:
    South Mississippi
    or for $100 or so you could get a omnipower 3bar plug and play map sensor for all honda's and spend another hundred or so and send your ecu off and get it chipped for your setup and stop killing your motor with 8psi and a afc neo. piggybacks=not safe. if you don't plan on running over 8psi then don't get the 3bar map sensor and just get your ecu chipped and do it right.
     
Verification:
Draft saved Draft deleted

Share This Page