1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

chiped pr4?

Discussion in 'ECU's, Electronics, and Tuning' started by erebunicrx, May 3, 2004.

  1. erebunicrx

    erebunicrx my name is Dale

    Messages:
    2,110
    Likes Received:
    1
    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2003
    Location:
    Bristol ct
    im puting a ls in my crx and useing a pr4 ecu. would it do me any good if i chip it first? all the mods i will have are i/h/e and ingnition. also how hard is it to install a chip?
     
  2. brc80

    brc80 Senior Member

    Messages:
    1,613
    Likes Received:
    1
    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2002
    Location:
    Southern California
    I woulndnt chip it. Chips are a waste of money for gaining power
     
  3. pissedoffsol

    pissedoffsol RETIRED

    Messages:
    49,693
    Likes Received:
    54
    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2002
    Location:
    Retirement Home
  4. saturn_boy96

    saturn_boy96 88 C1V1C 53D4N DR1V3R

    Messages:
    1,507
    Likes Received:
    1
    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2002
    Location:
    Sheridan, WY
    :werd: unless you've done mods to the engine internally or changed cams, chipping is pretty much useless cause the stock ecu's have decent fuzzy logic and can learn.
     
  5. radnulb

    radnulb Senior Member

    Messages:
    674
    Likes Received:
    1
    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2003
    Location:
    Sinsinnaty, Ohio
    stock B18A PR4s are very very very detuned... I.E. hardly tuned at all.

    You can make some gains from a chip, but you're going to have to spend quite-some-time tuning it.

    I wouldn't bother unless you're going to take the time to DIY.
     
  6. radnulb

    radnulb Senior Member

    Messages:
    674
    Likes Received:
    1
    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2003
    Location:
    Sinsinnaty, Ohio
    the stock OBD0 ECUs have about as much fuzzy logic as tickle-me-Elmo...

    I'll have to remember that one though.
     
Verification:
Draft saved Draft deleted

Share This Page