1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Civic 91 Dx With A B16 Sir-ii

Discussion in 'HYBRID -> EG-EK / DC' started by bossman032, Jan 11, 2003.

  1. bossman032

    bossman032 Senior Member

    Messages:
    216
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2002
    I know my Civic 91 DX hatch is OBD-0.
    Requires Mounts Which I have.

    My civic is cable and the Engine I have is SIR II is came with Cable Tranny 170HP!
    I have the complete engine swap ready with the mounts ready to drop.
    I have to wait for my friend to take out his car from the garage to do the swap.

    In the mean time I would like to get some advise from yo.. :D

    I know SIR II is OBD-1.
    I don't really care about the OBD series wiring..


    Here are some questions..

    I know my friends homeboi who can do the wiring for 600 bucks including the DROP he said wiring will take 3 days. He said he will need to strip the car inside for the proper wiring job. He has done many civics including DX's like mine hopefully.

    What are some problems will I face because I have a DX?
    I am in sacramento, ca 95823..

    Any advise will be very helpful...
    also is 600 koo price for a Drop and Wiring JOB?

    help me out guys :worthy:
     
  2. bossman032

    bossman032 Senior Member

    Messages:
    216
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2002
  3. pissedoffsol

    pissedoffsol RETIRED

    Messages:
    49,693
    Likes Received:
    53
    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2002
    Location:
    Retirement Home
    i think $600 from a friend is a rip off. most shops charge 500 complete. lol
     
  4. pissedoffsol

    pissedoffsol RETIRED

    Messages:
    49,693
    Likes Received:
    53
    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2002
    Location:
    Retirement Home
  5. MaaseyRacer

    MaaseyRacer Senior Member

    Messages:
    2,980
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2002
    Location:
    San Francisco, Ca.
    dude i am about to do this exact swap in My 89 DX, and i just did this exact swap in a 90DX...
    Wiring is not that hard once you figure it out, takes half an hour and then another half an hour to an hour to finish it. I have a really good online guide if you want it PM me and i will give you the links. 600 sounds kinda steep for the whole thing. You live in Sac??? Talk to the guys at Motor Sports Dynamics they know a lot and have been rather helpful to me. And if i were you i would deffinately convert my car to OBD1 instead of converting the motor to OBD0.
    Good Luck and PM or IM me if you have any questons...
     
  6. bossman032

    bossman032 Senior Member

    Messages:
    216
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2002
    Thanks for the TIPS pissedoffsol, MaaseyRacer!!! :worthy:

    Anyone ELSE Like to Educate me :)
     
  7. xj0hnx

    xj0hnx I wanna be sedated VIP

    Messages:
    14,172
    Likes Received:
    48
    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2002
    Location:
    C.C.TX.
    looks like your vtec soleniod maybe broken.
     
  8. bossman032

    bossman032 Senior Member

    Messages:
    216
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2002

    Yes But I have a new one and new valve cover and Distributor!!!

    I don't have the engine its at my friend house!!!

    thanks
     
  9. xj0hnx

    xj0hnx I wanna be sedated VIP

    Messages:
    14,172
    Likes Received:
    48
    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2002
    Location:
    C.C.TX.

    Cool,that would suck.
     
  10. prawjEKt Cx

    prawjEKt Cx Senior Member

    Messages:
    551
    Likes Received:
    1
    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2003
    Location:
    upstate NY
    i see no real logical reason there is a downfall to just making the motor non obd just besides you'll have to ditch your ecu and get a pr3 or pw0

    there's an excellent mpfi tutorial on crxpower.net in the how to section


    i mean either way it's your car but if it was me this is what i'd do
    ..... pick up a pr3 and convert the motor to obd0
     
  11. bossman032

    bossman032 Senior Member

    Messages:
    216
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2002
    OBD0 TO OBD1

    Hello,

    If I get the OBD0 to OBD1 Harness Will it just plug up in my DX??

    Or DO I still need to modify the harness under the dash???
    I have the 4 vtec wires already their!!!
     
  12. xj0hnx

    xj0hnx I wanna be sedated VIP

    Messages:
    14,172
    Likes Received:
    48
    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2002
    Location:
    C.C.TX.
    It should if that is what they made it for.How do you have the vtec wires,did you run them already?
     
  13. MaaseyRacer

    MaaseyRacer Senior Member

    Messages:
    2,980
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2002
    Location:
    San Francisco, Ca.
    that harness you have wires that you may have to extend to run to the VTEC equipment. If i were you i would get that one that you saw on ebay that one already had the extended wire and everything, it looked good and the price was good too.
     
Verification:
Draft saved Draft deleted

Share This Page