1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Civic CX hybrid PLEASE HELP!!!!!!

Discussion in 'HYBRID -> EG-EK / DC' started by soulphantom, Jun 12, 2004.

  1. soulphantom

    soulphantom Junior Member

    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2004
    Alright..I have called shops. I have searched forums and websites! I have a b16a2 ..I have the b16a2 ecu...my car is a Civic 92 CX hatch (so no vtec). HOW DO I DO WIRING!!! People say, "Use the stock and just wire vtec." Then some say to buy a SI harness from a salvage yard from a SI car...Whats the best thing to do!!????any sites sell harneses.. please help!!!! ASAP!! and can i use my stock axles?????
     
  2. Import R

    Import R Senior Member

    Messages:
    166
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    May 21, 2004
    Location:
    Daytona Beach, FL
    It depends on how mechanically inclinded you are. If you are capable of soldering up some connections, then it is would be best to use your stock CX harness and just wire up the vtec connections yourself. There are multiple sources of information to reference on where the wires connect to. If you have no clue on how to do any of that, finding an OBD1 ex/si harness would be best. Checking local junkyards would be my first stop.

    As for your axles, they will not work. You need B series axles. If the motor did not come with an intermediate shaft, you will need that as well.
     
  3. soulphantom

    soulphantom Junior Member

    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2004
    Thanks for the reply.....When using an Ex/Si harness do u mean engine harness only. .A shop today told me I need to change the WHOLE harness from tail lights to engine including the fuse box....And I guess I will still need to run a 2nd O2 sensor if i use this harness????? Thanks in advance...any links or good sites would be appreciated
     
  4. brian11to1

    brian11to1 Senior Member

    Messages:
    9,203
    Likes Received:
    21
    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2003
    You dont have to do that... change the entire harness.
     
  5. Import R

    Import R Senior Member

    Messages:
    166
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    May 21, 2004
    Location:
    Daytona Beach, FL
    They told you that you need to change out the entire harness? Including interior? The people that you are talking to are retarded.
     
  6. soulphantom

    soulphantom Junior Member

    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2004
    Thanks for the help...no joke I been lost ..misguided....byI using the SI harness does this eliminate any extra wiring...just plug and play.....ive been searching the sites if anyone has any good links then put me down with them....i would just go to a local shop...but I know I wouldn't be able to sleep at night do 2 fear of being jacked by them fools..mad shady type
     
  7. Import R

    Import R Senior Member

    Messages:
    166
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    May 21, 2004
    Location:
    Daytona Beach, FL
    As long as the ECU you are using is OBD1, then an engine harness from a 5th gen civic EX/SI will be "plug and play". You will only need the harness from the engine compartment.

    If you don't feel 100% comfortable that the shop you have been talking to is going to do the job right, search around and look for another place to do it. If you need some information about the swap, check out the articles section of the forums. They are a wealth of information.
     
Verification:
Draft saved Draft deleted

Share This Page