1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Civic ECU

Discussion in 'ECU's, Electronics, and Tuning' started by civicuk00, Nov 10, 2002.

  1. civicuk00

    civicuk00 Junior Member

    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2002
    Hi can any one help!
    Ihave a Civic 2000 1.5i LS VTEC Japanese Import (D15Z6) but I cant find any where that has an upgrade for my chip. Any help or advice would be great.
    Thanks Mark
     
  2. pills_PMD

    pills_PMD Super Moderator

    Messages:
    4,232
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2002
    Location:
    New Albany, OH
    what are you talking about? i'm confused
     
  3. pissedoffsol

    pissedoffsol RETIRED

    Messages:
    49,693
    Likes Received:
    53
    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2002
    Location:
    Retirement Home
    1.5 LS/VTEC ?? d15z6??

    you mean mini me??????????????

    AKA you had a d15b bottom end, and put a d16z6 head on it?

    upgrade for your chip? you mean your ecu, and you want to get a chip?
     
  4. AllMotorMonster

    AllMotorMonster Senior Member

    Messages:
    542
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2002
    Location:
    Inland Empire foo!

    Sorry, but you have no idea what you're talking about.

    2000 Civic LS/VTEC Import? Good try buddy.
     
  5. civicuk00

    civicuk00 Junior Member

    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2002
    No its not a con or a joke! I have a 1.5i LS VTEC 2000 Hatchback that was imported from Japan and i have tried to find a new chip for it and cant find one anywhere. Engine number is D15Z6, Type EK3.

    Can you put pics on here, because i'll take a pic of the plaque in the engine bay.
     
  6. AllMotorMonster

    AllMotorMonster Senior Member

    Messages:
    542
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2002
    Location:
    Inland Empire foo!

    I realize your a noob, but you could at least have some common sense.


    Here's some important info.

    A LS engine is a B18 not a D15
     
  7. B16

    B16 Super Moderator VIP

    Messages:
    11,516
    Likes Received:
    511
    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2002
    Location:
    yay area, CA
    yes, you should read and find out what LS VTEC is, then get back to us with what your problem is, you have conflicting information
     
  8. calvin

    calvin Senior Member

    Messages:
    296
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2002
    Location:
    NETHERLANDS
    Here in europe you have an 1.5L vtec. Engine # is d15z6.
     
  9. calvin

    calvin Senior Member

    Messages:
    296
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2002
    Location:
    NETHERLANDS
    it is an honda civic lsi (just like the dxi in the states). I think.
     
  10. pissedoffsol

    pissedoffsol RETIRED

    Messages:
    49,693
    Likes Received:
    53
    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2002
    Location:
    Retirement Home
  11. civicuk00

    civicuk00 Junior Member

    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2002
    Sorry I should have said that I'm from Europe, my fault. The car was imported to Luxembourg europe. But why the hell have I got a pain in the ass engine? I've got the usual mods but I 'm after a new chip. But all I keep getting told is that my car does not exists, well sorry it does, its outside now!
     
  12. bte15

    bte15 Senior Member

    Messages:
    204
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2002
    Location:
    Bellevue, Washington
    well you could get a obd2 to obd1 jumper and get hondata that would solve all of you problems
     
  13. pissedoffsol

    pissedoffsol RETIRED

    Messages:
    49,693
    Likes Received:
    53
    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2002
    Location:
    Retirement Home

    pics!!!!
     
  14. AllMotorMonster

    AllMotorMonster Senior Member

    Messages:
    542
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2002
    Location:
    Inland Empire foo!
    So what you have is just a JDM 1.5 SOHC VTEC. Nothing unusual. No LSVTEC engine there.

    It's Honda's smallest VTEC engine. (Similar to the US spec VX engine)

    You can get a OBD2-1 adapter, and use a P08 ecu stock, or have it chipped.

    Hondata is not going to be able to help you on this one.

    I know, I know.... Why not?

    The JDM 1.5l VTEC engine is missing a few parts that Hondata looks for.

    1- The ECU does not have a barometric sensor
    2- The ECU does not look for a VTEC oil pressure switch
    3- The ECU does not look for a Knock sensor.

    Although #3 doesn't matter, 1 & 2 do.

    HTH's.
     
  15. pissedoffsol

    pissedoffsol RETIRED

    Messages:
    49,693
    Likes Received:
    53
    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2002
    Location:
    Retirement Home
    hrm... why doesn't it have #2? I was under the impression that the right pressure is required as a safety feature
     
  16. toyzbus

    toyzbus Member

    Messages:
    35
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2002
    Location:
    Western Nebraska
    I have heard of the D15Z6, but do not know anything about it. For switching to OBD1 and a USDM ecu, you could switch to a usdm vtec solenoid with a vtec pressure switch. I had to do this to use my usdm p72 on my JDM b18c.
     
Verification:
Draft saved Draft deleted

Share This Page