1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Civic Gauge Cluster Question...

Discussion in 'ECU's, Electronics, and Tuning' started by thebeast3416, Jan 19, 2003.

  1. thebeast3416

    thebeast3416 Junior Member

    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2003
    I've got an 88 Civic DX 4-door, just picked it up for extremely cheap and in excellent condition. My Question is this....

    I used to have an 89 civic LX 4-door, and loved the gauge cluster. If I am able to find a cluster with the tach, right now it just has the huge fuel level and temp gauges, would this be a direct bolt in, or would I have to make wiring modifications for the tach to work?

    Thanks for the info!
     
  2. prawjEKt Cx

    prawjEKt Cx Senior Member

    Messages:
    551
    Likes Received:
    1
    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2003
    Location:
    upstate NY
    it's gotta.... i can't see why they'd change it.
     
  3. civicracer901

    civicracer901 Senior Member

    Messages:
    104
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2002
    Location:
    Clearwater,FL.
    can't you just get one from a crx? with a tach like the si or somthing? Its just plug and play right? Iam in wrong?
     
  4. thebeast3416

    thebeast3416 Junior Member

    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2003
    CRX/Civic shouldn't matter. It's the wiring that I'm concerned about. Specifically, the tach lead in the harness on the rear of the cluster.
     
  5. prawjEKt Cx

    prawjEKt Cx Senior Member

    Messages:
    551
    Likes Received:
    1
    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2003
    Location:
    upstate NY
    im almost positive the civic and crx clusters didnt' share the same shape, along with the civic hatch and sedan
     
  6. chet

    chet Senior Member

    Messages:
    888
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2002
    Location:
    st petersburg, florida
    all civic's are prewired for a tach. its the cluster itself that lacks the tachometer, not the car's wiring harness.

    as far as finding the right cluster, you'll need an 88, 89 cluster from any civic. the 90,91 clusters are slight different and don't fit.
     
  7. thebeast3416

    thebeast3416 Junior Member

    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2003
    now, one other question. Is there a way i can swap the odometer in one of these clusters, or is it a total pain in the A$$? My civic only has 98,158 on it and I'd like to keep it as close to that as possible. Or is there a way I can have the odometer in the transplant guage cluster set to match?

    Many Thanks,
    It's been a while since I've been into the honda tech...
     
  8. aznhottiekj

    aznhottiekj Senior Member

    Messages:
    110
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2002
    just go to the wreckers and find a a cluster wit close to the same milleage man, there has got to be alot near u live, there are a bunch were im from
     
Verification:
Draft saved Draft deleted

Share This Page