1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

civic swap

Discussion in 'Civic and del Sol - EG and EK' started by importphanatic94vx, Apr 12, 2007.

  1. importphanatic94vx

    importphanatic94vx New Member

    Messages:
    44
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2007
    Location:
    ABERDEEN,WA ORIGINALLY FROM YAKIMA
    i have a 1994 honda civic hb vx..with the vtec-e..i want to put the d16z6 motor in my car..i was just wondering what i have to do to do the swap..i know you have to get a p28 ecu and you can use the original half shafts and tranny..but other then that i need help on my swap..

    thanks devan

    i got a d15z1 in my car now but i want a d16z6..
     
  2. importphanatic94vx

    importphanatic94vx New Member

    Messages:
    44
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2007
    Location:
    ABERDEEN,WA ORIGINALLY FROM YAKIMA
    help me i need to know how to do the swap please!!!!
     
  3. turbo sol

    turbo sol I need some ligaments!!!

    Messages:
    791
    Likes Received:
    4
    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2006
    Location:
    laurel, montucky (ten minutes out of billings)
    it's pretty much a drop in, wire it up deal... everything plugs into the same locations (assuming it is the same obd number)
     
  4. importphanatic94vx

    importphanatic94vx New Member

    Messages:
    44
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2007
    Location:
    ABERDEEN,WA ORIGINALLY FROM YAKIMA
    any other help?

    any one else got any input for me thanks!!


    devan
     
  5. Eg6nRpS13

    Eg6nRpS13 Junior Member

    Messages:
    21
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2005
    you would probably have to do the 7 wire o2 sensor conversion to the 4 wire o2 sensor also, the vx has a 7 wire o2 sensor and the d16 has a 4 wire o2. Im pretty sure you can find the conversion help sheet somewhere on this site
     
  6. importphanatic94vx

    importphanatic94vx New Member

    Messages:
    44
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2007
    Location:
    ABERDEEN,WA ORIGINALLY FROM YAKIMA
    5 wire

    mine is a 5 wire colors are-

    orange
    yellow
    white
    red
    black
    anyone know how to hook up a 4 wire for a d16z6
     
  7. Eg6nRpS13

    Eg6nRpS13 Junior Member

    Messages:
    21
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2005
    sorrie about that, I meant a 5 wire to 4 wire conversion, I was thinking 7 wire on somthing else, I will try to find the write up on the conversion and im you the link.
     
  8. importphanatic94vx

    importphanatic94vx New Member

    Messages:
    44
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2007
    Location:
    ABERDEEN,WA ORIGINALLY FROM YAKIMA
    anything else to help me with the swap?

    i wanted to change the head gasket,oil pan gasket and valve cover gasket before i installed it..but some guy told me not to touch them till i see that they are bad..that ture or jusr change them?
     
  9. Eg6nRpS13

    Eg6nRpS13 Junior Member

    Messages:
    21
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2005
    I would just replace it if you have the funds, prevenitive maintenance. Do it right the first time so you don't have to go back in and do it again. Its a lot easier to do it while the engine is out.
     
  10. turbo sol

    turbo sol I need some ligaments!!!

    Messages:
    791
    Likes Received:
    4
    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2006
    Location:
    laurel, montucky (ten minutes out of billings)
    i'll second that... just replace them.
     
  11. importphanatic94vx

    importphanatic94vx New Member

    Messages:
    44
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2007
    Location:
    ABERDEEN,WA ORIGINALLY FROM YAKIMA
    ecu?

    so i can not use my stock vx ecu?
     
  12. lewellgd

    lewellgd 92CivicHatchCxBORNINCALI

    Messages:
    134
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2007
    The motor will just drop in and plug in. d16z6 is only obd1 so no prob there and do not use the vx ecu or u might as well not even do the swap. GET THE P28.
     
Verification:
Draft saved Draft deleted

Share This Page