1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

civic wont start again!!

Discussion in 'General Tech and Maintenance' started by INJEN78, Jan 14, 2008.

  1. INJEN78

    INJEN78 HS LEGEND

    Messages:
    9,187
    Likes Received:
    121
    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2007
    Location:
    OHIO
    ok i just dont get it..
    i just put another new head on my si..and it still wont start...timing is correct,getting fuel,spark and the compression is fine...
    what else could it be?!?!?!?
    a ground,sensor, or bad ecu???
    whenever i turn the car to on..the red light blinks once(meaning its on?)

    list any possible issues please!!


    EDIT!!not having the o2 sensor hooked up wouldnt cause a no-start would it?
     
  2. ls/vtechatch91

    ls/vtechatch91 New Member

    Messages:
    339
    Likes Received:
    2
    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2006
    Location:
    washington
    not having the o2 sensor hooked up wont cause it to start... do u have all ur grounds hooked up???? check the battery termanls.... the ground from the body to the valve cover?? any little things can be it.. sounds like a wiring problem tho
     
  3. LS_VTEC

    LS_VTEC you get the BRAKE

    Messages:
    2,616
    Likes Received:
    25
    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2007
    Location:
    NJ
    Are the clips from the engine harness to the distributor hooked up? Is the ecu plugged in? Is the battery fully charged? Is your penis erect?.... oops, disregard that last one.
     
  4. LS_VTEC

    LS_VTEC you get the BRAKE

    Messages:
    2,616
    Likes Received:
    25
    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2007
    Location:
    NJ
    The o2 sensor doesnt have to be hooked up, it will just run rich.
     
  5. YBLEGAL

    YBLEGAL Regular Member w/ Cheese

    Messages:
    2,762
    Likes Received:
    36
    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2006
    Location:
    NW Indiana
    crank?

    spark?

    fuel?
     
  6. Jixer615

    Jixer615 New Member

    Messages:
    73
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2007
    check and make sure that your knock sensor did not get hit or unplugged, this will cause the engine never to start just sit there and crank and crank and crank. other then that, you said your timing is right, all your hoses and other sensors are hooked up, it should start.

    start from the beginning and go slow, check everywhere
     
  7. riceburner89

    riceburner89 Banned

    Messages:
    91
    Likes Received:
    1
    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2007
    Location:
    santa clarita CA
    Its not ur 02 sensor.. all that would make you do is run richer
     
  8. INJEN78

    INJEN78 HS LEGEND

    Messages:
    9,187
    Likes Received:
    121
    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2007
    Location:
    OHIO
    its getting fuel,spark,and has compression on all 4 cyl. now it starts sometimes..and idles shitty at 1k but wont rev up..other times it starts and jumps right to 4k-5k everything is hooked up...
     
  9. YBLEGAL

    YBLEGAL Regular Member w/ Cheese

    Messages:
    2,762
    Likes Received:
    36
    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2006
    Location:
    NW Indiana
    it sounds like a bad ground or timing is off. though you said it's good.

    getting any codes?

    is it a known working ecu?
     
  10. INJEN78

    INJEN78 HS LEGEND

    Messages:
    9,187
    Likes Received:
    121
    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2007
    Location:
    OHIO
    timing is dead on...ive checked it millions of times...the ecu worked finebefor i swapped heads....whenever i click the key to the start postion it blinks red once(turn on) i pulled the tps and it threw a code..i plugged it back in and the code went away,,,ive been told it might be a vacuum line loose or not hooked up,,or to change the intake mani gasket(i reused it)
     
  11. INJEN78

    INJEN78 HS LEGEND

    Messages:
    9,187
    Likes Received:
    121
    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2007
    Location:
    OHIO
    the car is obd0 it doesnt have a knocksensor
     
  12. YBLEGAL

    YBLEGAL Regular Member w/ Cheese

    Messages:
    2,762
    Likes Received:
    36
    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2006
    Location:
    NW Indiana
    my OBD1 blinked as you said when i forgot to connect power to the dizzy, but you have spark, when i didnt. hmm. i think it might have to do with the Ignition Input Signal, or ICM or something. the ECU doesnt know it's trying to start or w/e. maybe that can further your research.
     
  13. 93civicracer

    93civicracer Oh, I do a little here and there.

    Messages:
    2,116
    Likes Received:
    18
    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2007
    Location:
    Texas
    Did you check all the vacuum lines and check for open vacuum fittings on the IM? You'd probably throw a MAP code if that was it...I had a problem like that right after my swap.

    Shit try it with another known working starting motor/solenoid that could be it.
     
  14. YBLEGAL

    YBLEGAL Regular Member w/ Cheese

    Messages:
    2,762
    Likes Received:
    36
    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2006
    Location:
    NW Indiana
    if he has spark, he's got crank. fyi
     
  15. 93civicracer

    93civicracer Oh, I do a little here and there.

    Messages:
    2,116
    Likes Received:
    18
    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2007
    Location:
    Texas
    Yea but if he doesn't have enough vacuum could the engine not have enough power to work on its own?

    Or were you just talking about the last suggestion in my post?
     
  16. YBLEGAL

    YBLEGAL Regular Member w/ Cheese

    Messages:
    2,762
    Likes Received:
    36
    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2006
    Location:
    NW Indiana
    ya i was talking about the starter motor/solinoid suggestion

    honestly, i've disconnected all my vacuum lines except map sensor, and it will still start and run, it just idles all over the place. but hey, u never kno
     
  17. 93civicracer

    93civicracer Oh, I do a little here and there.

    Messages:
    2,116
    Likes Received:
    18
    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2007
    Location:
    Texas
    When I first swapped in the D15B vtec I think I had just 1 or 2 open vacuum fittings and my shit would keep coughing then eventually start. Then I was like man fuck this shit so I tee bracketed all the lines and used the other IM.
     
  18. INJEN78

    INJEN78 HS LEGEND

    Messages:
    9,187
    Likes Received:
    121
    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2007
    Location:
    OHIO
    i have spark,fuel,compression everything..
    it has to be a bad sensor or something stupid...i just dont know..
    im putting new o2 sensor and new intake mani gasket on tomorrow..rechecking everything..n ill let you know
     
  19. 93civicracer

    93civicracer Oh, I do a little here and there.

    Messages:
    2,116
    Likes Received:
    18
    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2007
    Location:
    Texas
    The o2 sensor and intake gasket won't do that and I think you'd be getting a MAP code if the IM gasket is bad enough to affect performance.

    Are you getting any trouble codes? If not then all the sensors are fine. My service manual tells me there IS one sensor that won't throw a code even if it's disconnected. Get a factory manual if you don't have one. I got both the factory service manual and the factory electrical troubleshooting manual for mine.
     
  20. INJEN78

    INJEN78 HS LEGEND

    Messages:
    9,187
    Likes Received:
    121
    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2007
    Location:
    OHIO
    which sensor would that be????and i have a haynes manual..i dunno i guess ill find out tomorrow what the deal is with vacuum leaks
     
Verification:
Draft saved Draft deleted

Share This Page