1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

cluster doesnt work

Discussion in 'ECU's, Electronics, and Tuning' started by old Skuul Hatch, Aug 30, 2004.

  1. old Skuul Hatch

    old Skuul Hatch Senior Member

    Messages:
    142
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2004
    Location:
    Honesdale Pennsylvania / Fort Smith Arkansas
    On my brothers 93 civic ex his friend and him were hooking up the stereo, for some reason they pulled the ecu fuse out while the car was running :ph34r:

    Now the guage cluster doesnt work,blinkers and the parking lock brake wont disengauge has to use key.

    I tried reseting the ecu and checked the fuses.

    so did he fry the ecu or ......??

    Please help!
     
  2. 92civicb18b1

    92civicb18b1 The Trisexual

    Messages:
    8,859
    Likes Received:
    18
    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2003
    Location:
    The asshole of the USA, New Jersey
    The parking brake won't disengage?
    it has nothing to do with the ECU or anything electrical for that matter.

    Cluster not working?
    Check fuses and look for shorts.
     
  3. 92civicb18b1

    92civicb18b1 The Trisexual

    Messages:
    8,859
    Likes Received:
    18
    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2003
    Location:
    The asshole of the USA, New Jersey
    O yea, can you still start the car?
     
  4. old Skuul Hatch

    old Skuul Hatch Senior Member

    Messages:
    142
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2004
    Location:
    Honesdale Pennsylvania / Fort Smith Arkansas
    It starts.

    pusing on the brake to put it in gear wont work,u have to use the key thing.

    My bad I explaind that wrong.
     
  5. old Skuul Hatch

    old Skuul Hatch Senior Member

    Messages:
    142
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2004
    Location:
    Honesdale Pennsylvania / Fort Smith Arkansas
    Cluster lights come on but the guages dont work, turn signals dont work and wont go into gear.

    I pulled every fuse there all ok :(

    How do I go about looking for shorts?
     
  6. 92civicb18b1

    92civicb18b1 The Trisexual

    Messages:
    8,859
    Likes Received:
    18
    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2003
    Location:
    The asshole of the USA, New Jersey
    Yea, sounds like an ECU problem.

    Look for wires grounding themselves or touching other wires. Check the hazard switch too, without one properly connected you can't use your turn signals.

    The bad connection/short will probably be around where the stereo is.

    I'm also now assuming that the car is auto.
     
  7. old Skuul Hatch

    old Skuul Hatch Senior Member

    Messages:
    142
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2004
    Location:
    Honesdale Pennsylvania / Fort Smith Arkansas
    Yes auto.

    The thing that did it was pulling the ecu fuse while it was running. :ph34r:

    The stereo wireing is ok,stereo works.

    Havent touched any wireing besides stereo(hooking up subs)

    Reseting it didn't work so im guesing hees now in need of a new ecu? <_<
     
  8. 92civicb18b1

    92civicb18b1 The Trisexual

    Messages:
    8,859
    Likes Received:
    18
    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2003
    Location:
    The asshole of the USA, New Jersey
    I don't want to tell you to go out and buy a new ECU, when it could simply be a wire. I believe that the wiring from the cluster goes past the stereo, so a wire could be touching.

    Did your brother hook up the stereo properly. I.E. not cutting and splicing random wires that have power running through them, becasue if he did it that way...there's the problem.

    I can't help you on the auto problem, but the problem probably lies within the cluster problem.

    BTW, why did he pull the ECU fuse while the car was running...or any fuse for that matter?
     
  9. old Skuul Hatch

    old Skuul Hatch Senior Member

    Messages:
    142
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2004
    Location:
    Honesdale Pennsylvania / Fort Smith Arkansas
    Its hooked up properly,no spliceing into the harness.

    Yes he pulled the fuse while it was running or his friend.. no clue why they did that :blink:
     
  10. 92civicb18b1

    92civicb18b1 The Trisexual

    Messages:
    8,859
    Likes Received:
    18
    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2003
    Location:
    The asshole of the USA, New Jersey
    wait till someone else responds before you go out and buy a new ECU, I think you should here more opinion before you take my advice.
     
  11. old Skuul Hatch

    old Skuul Hatch Senior Member

    Messages:
    142
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2004
    Location:
    Honesdale Pennsylvania / Fort Smith Arkansas
    Any one else got any ideas?
     
  12. old Skuul Hatch

    old Skuul Hatch Senior Member

    Messages:
    142
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2004
    Location:
    Honesdale Pennsylvania / Fort Smith Arkansas
    Today I opend up the ecu and it didnt look like any thing got fried,could it still be bad?
     
  13. 92civicb18b1

    92civicb18b1 The Trisexual

    Messages:
    8,859
    Likes Received:
    18
    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2003
    Location:
    The asshole of the USA, New Jersey
    I dunno, I'm not big on computer shit. I don't know why anyone else isnt posting, but I think that it can be fried without any visible damage.

    BUMP for this guy.
     
  14. 94RedSiGal

    94RedSiGal Senior Member

    Messages:
    3,147
    Likes Received:
    1
    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2003
    Location:
    Massachusetts
    Well my plan B on these problems is to find a good ECU to swap in, then see how the car runs. ECU's are fairly durable. In general, if the junkyard ones have a good exterior casing, one doesn't worry about their performance.

    Whoever pulled that ECU fuse while the car was running is a stupid shit. It's never cool to goof around a car like that. :angry:
     
  15. old Skuul Hatch

    old Skuul Hatch Senior Member

    Messages:
    142
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2004
    Location:
    Honesdale Pennsylvania / Fort Smith Arkansas
    Alrighty,he got a diff. ecu still the same shit not worken.


    So any ideas on what the hell his friend screwd up by pulling the ecu fuse out while the car was running!?!?

    :worthy: PLZ HElp
     
  16. topendms

    topendms Junior Member

    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2004
    My old Accord wouldnt come out of park unless I used the key to unlock it. Beleive it or not, I changed all the fuses under the hood and it was all good from then on ..
     
Verification:
Draft saved Draft deleted

Share This Page