1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

cluster swap

Discussion in 'HYBRID -> ED-EF / DA' started by crx8787, Jan 2, 2009.

  1. crx8787

    crx8787 New Member

    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    May 25, 2007
    cluster swap HELP

    Would the 90 to 91 civic WAGON cluster fit in a 90 civic hatch std??
     
  2. K2e2vin

    K2e2vin Senior Member

    Messages:
    8,446
    Likes Received:
    92
    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2003
    Location:
    Raleigh, NC
    Got a pic?
     
  3. 95b16coupe

    95b16coupe New Member

    Messages:
    6,538
    Likes Received:
    224
    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2008
    Location:
    ct
    why would you want to?
     
  4. crx8787

    crx8787 New Member

    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    May 25, 2007
    cant find a pic, but pretty sure the shape is the same, i want to cause the cluster i got has no tach and i dont want to mess up my dash putting a autometer bull**** on. just want to know if plugs are the same
     
  5. 95b16coupe

    95b16coupe New Member

    Messages:
    6,538
    Likes Received:
    224
    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2008
    Location:
    ct
    you should just find another std one. shouldn't be too hard. the plugs would swap straight over.
     
  6. crx8787

    crx8787 New Member

    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    May 25, 2007
    but doesn't all the std and dx clusters come without a tach??
     
  7. K2e2vin

    K2e2vin Senior Member

    Messages:
    8,446
    Likes Received:
    92
    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2003
    Location:
    Raleigh, NC
    CRX DX's have tachometers, not sure about the HFs.

    I actually have a DX one but it's at my cousin's house(about 80mi away)

    Also, if you wanted to, you could put just about any cluster in your car.

    Here's mine(94 GSR): http://i27.photobucket.com/albums/c164/K2e2vin/100_2460.jpg
    The Accord ones seem like it would work better though; too bad I threw mine away.
     
    Last edited: Jan 2, 2009
  8. hatukazi

    hatukazi ambitious...but rubbish

    Messages:
    508
    Likes Received:
    6
    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2007
    Location:
    Big Lake, MN
    sorry for the threadjack, but how did you do that?
    my 90 came with the GSR cluster but my speedo never worked.

    and I am sure the OP can use an Si cluster and the tach will work, so the wagon one should, I would just try it.
     
  9. K2e2vin

    K2e2vin Senior Member

    Messages:
    8,446
    Likes Received:
    92
    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2003
    Location:
    Raleigh, NC
    Pretty much just retrofit/wire in the GSR plugs(I actually used a set from an LS since the cluster didn't come with them). You have to swap over a electronic VSS and wire it in. The 88-91's have it built into the cluster.
     
  10. OGMatt

    OGMatt Not a real OG lol

    Messages:
    1,326
    Likes Received:
    30
    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2008
    Location:
    vic B.C. Japanada
    use an SI cluster.done.
     
  11. kricket3000

    kricket3000 New Member

    Messages:
    218
    Likes Received:
    1
    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2006
  12. D16SiHatch

    D16SiHatch New Member

    Messages:
    1,297
    Likes Received:
    44
    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2007
    I believe the wagovan cluster will work just fine.

    and like kevin said you can use a different newer cluster as well. just make sure you wire up the electronic vehicle speed sensor. common ones would be the integra ls/gsr/type r cluster, crv cluster, and the 99-00 Civic Si cluster. i have a 94 ls in mine.

    [​IMG]
     
    Last edited: Jan 3, 2009
  13. crx8787

    crx8787 New Member

    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    May 25, 2007
    got a pic of my cluster, what is that box with the blue plug??

    [​IMG]
     
  14. mesa50w

    mesa50w New Member

    Messages:
    30
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2008
    mine looks like that as well everything but the gas gauge and speedo work in mine but I dont know what plugs into the blue. BTW i"m gettn a 17 code VSS so how do I wire it in as stated above.
     
  15. Da1andonlyJinx

    Da1andonlyJinx New Member

    Messages:
    40
    Likes Received:
    1
    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2006
    Location:
    Florida
    that blue plug is for cruise control i believe. And the question about the 90-91 wagon cluster, yes it will work. I have a 90 wagon and have switched between the hatch and 4 door clusters in my wagon.
     
Verification:
Draft saved Draft deleted

Share This Page