1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

coax only surge supressor

Discussion in 'Members' Lounge' started by Briansol, Sep 3, 2013.

  1. Briansol

    Briansol Admins Admin VIP

    Messages:
    21,452
    Likes Received:
    2,116
    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2007
    Location:
    CT
    can anyone find this? basically, I am looking for something like this:
    Amazon.com : Tripp Lite HT10DBS Home Theater Isobar Surge Protector 10 Outlet RJ11 RJ45 Coax : Battery Backup Tv : Electronics

    but without power outlets. I ONLY want to run my cable wire through it.

    and it must function without power.

    im planning to install it at the 'road' where it comes in to the electric room in the house, and simply don't have power there or the need for outlets. I just want coax surge protection.

    does it exist?

    I have like 6 coax outlets plugged in now after you factor in TV's and internet stuff, and it just makes more sense to clamp it at the source instead of each destination.
     
  2. GSRCRXsi

    GSRCRXsi Super Moderator Moderator VIP

    Messages:
    9,623
    Likes Received:
    345
    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2002
    Location:
    MD
    I may be wrong. But I'm not sure a surge protector/suppressor can function without power
     
  3. Briansol

    Briansol Admins Admin VIP

    Messages:
    21,452
    Likes Received:
    2,116
    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2007
    Location:
    CT
  4. GSRCRXsi

    GSRCRXsi Super Moderator Moderator VIP

    Messages:
    9,623
    Likes Received:
    345
    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2002
    Location:
    MD
    That's your solution.

    A coax signal isn't measured in volts. It's measured in MHz. It's a signal wire. Not power.

    Honestly I've never found the need to surge protect coax. I've never seen any electronics damaged from a coax surge. IMO it's along the same lines as buying Monster HDMI cables. Not necessary.
     
    Last edited: Sep 3, 2013
  5. Briansol

    Briansol Admins Admin VIP

    Messages:
    21,452
    Likes Received:
    2,116
    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2007
    Location:
    CT
    if lightning hits the wires directly, it will travel in that way.

    between the modems, phones, and tvs, there's several thousands of dollars hooked up to it. spending 20 or so on a protector is a slight piece of mind at the very least.
     
  6. GSRCRXsi

    GSRCRXsi Super Moderator Moderator VIP

    Messages:
    9,623
    Likes Received:
    345
    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2002
    Location:
    MD
    if lightning strikes the lines directly, i dont think that little protector is going to protect much lol. youre talking millions of volts at that point. when it only takes 10,000 - 20,000V to arc across 1" gap of discontinuity.

    but the chances a direct strike like that are astronomically low.

    i just think youre worrying about something that you dont really need to be. it would be like me asking you how worried you are that your car will be struck by lightning.
     
  7. B16

    B16 Super Moderator VIP

    Messages:
    11,539
    Likes Received:
    534
    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2002
    Location:
    yay area, CA
    Can I get surge protection over my wireless signal too?
     
  8. GSRCRXsi

    GSRCRXsi Super Moderator Moderator VIP

    Messages:
    9,623
    Likes Received:
    345
    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2002
    Location:
    MD
    surge protection on incoming coax line -- needed or not? - Ars Technica OpenForum

    reply #1 :
    a quick google search reveals MANY people having issues with the surge protector messing with the signal and causing a wide range of problems. most people recommend to remove the surge protector and that making sure the coax is properly grounded is ultimately more important
     
    Last edited: Sep 3, 2013
  9. Briansol

    Briansol Admins Admin VIP

    Messages:
    21,452
    Likes Received:
    2,116
    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2007
    Location:
    CT
    ok that begs the question, how do you check that the coax is grounded? (other than the obvious of looking for a ground wire on the cable itself.... which im pretty sure I don't have)
     
  10. dveit

    dveit Well-Known Member VIP

    Messages:
    5,361
    Likes Received:
    79
    Joined:
    May 5, 2003
    Location:
    DMV
    Set your multimeter to the AC voltage scale. Touch one probe on the outer exposed screw part of the coax cable and stick the other probe into the round hole of a nearby power receptacle. If there is a good ground connection then the measurement should be very close to zero. Or if your multimeter has a continuity mode do the same test and it should beep if you have solid ground.
     
  11. dveit

    dveit Well-Known Member VIP

    Messages:
    5,361
    Likes Received:
    79
    Joined:
    May 5, 2003
    Location:
    DMV
    If you're really worried about grounding issues then you could use a 2-way (Y) splitter and have one path go to a grounding rod/strap. Have you had any symptoms of grounding or short-circuit related issues?
     
  12. Briansol

    Briansol Admins Admin VIP

    Messages:
    21,452
    Likes Received:
    2,116
    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2007
    Location:
    CT
    No.... I was just looking at getting a new multi surge strip for my room, and I was thinking why am I only going to stop the cable surge here when my router and other tvs are wide open to it... go for the source.

    FWIW, I usually have no idea what i'm doing. :p
     
  13. reikoshea

    reikoshea HS Troll...And Mod Moderator VIP

    Messages:
    12,633
    Likes Received:
    193
    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2005
    Location:
    San Antonio, TX
  14. Briansol

    Briansol Admins Admin VIP

    Messages:
    21,452
    Likes Received:
    2,116
    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2007
    Location:
    CT
    ok, it looks like my house already has one to these in place
     
  15. totalburnout

    totalburnout Well-Known Member VIP

    Messages:
    7,068
    Likes Received:
    126
    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2002
    Location:
    NJ
    My parents house just got hit by lightning Monday night. The surge protector didn't help. :).
     
  16. Briansol

    Briansol Admins Admin VIP

    Messages:
    21,452
    Likes Received:
    2,116
    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2007
    Location:
    CT
    what was it rated for? (joules) was it a hit on the house, or on the wires itself
     
  17. awptickes

    awptickes unimpressed by you VIP

    Messages:
    9,276
    Likes Received:
    497
    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2007
    Location:
    MD
  18. SlushboxTeggy

    SlushboxTeggy It's only stupid if it doesn't work VIP

    Messages:
    9,392
    Likes Received:
    245
    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2004
    Location:
    New Jersey
    I've been trying to make a 1.21 gigawatts comment since I first saw this thread. Oh well.

    [​IMG]
     
  19. Briansol

    Briansol Admins Admin VIP

    Messages:
    21,452
    Likes Received:
    2,116
    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2007
    Location:
    CT
    yeha, current set up is grounded to a pipe... looks like incoming from street water.
     
  20. GSRCRXsi

    GSRCRXsi Super Moderator Moderator VIP

    Messages:
    9,623
    Likes Received:
    345
    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2002
    Location:
    MD

    keep in mind both of those are only rated to 1000MHz.

    i foresee some signal quality issues with these things in the loop.
     
Verification:
Draft saved Draft deleted

Share This Page