1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Code 17, WTF?

Discussion in 'Civic and CRX - EF' started by GlassHeadlights, Oct 9, 2008.

  1. GlassHeadlights

    GlassHeadlights West West Yall

    Messages:
    4,066
    Likes Received:
    71
    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2007
    Location:
    Calgary, AB
    Hey, I have a 90 Civic Si. I did the auto to manyal swap. At first everything was out of whack until I put the manual transmission ECU in. That seemed to fix everything then one day my dad was driving it hard then a engine light came on. We got it home then found out it was the oxygen sensor. After switching it out for a new one it didn't help. We traced down the wiring and the wire snapped. I soldered it back togther and its been fine for a long time now. It has no insurance on it now so all I do is drive it around the property so it doesn't get out much. I got bored and wired up the reverse lights and they work fine but I moved one wire under the dash and now I'm getting code 17, vehicle speed sensor. I thought the wire I moved was a blank because of the automatic. I traced it down and it is a blank in the engine bay. Any help please, thanks Brad.
     
  2. AHHVTEC

    AHHVTEC Well-Known Member VIP

    Messages:
    13,122
    Likes Received:
    245
    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2006
    Location:
    Alabama
    is your vss hooked up
     
  3. GlassHeadlights

    GlassHeadlights West West Yall

    Messages:
    4,066
    Likes Received:
    71
    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2007
    Location:
    Calgary, AB
    The cable from the transmission? No. I disconnected it because I reset the odometer to 0 because I'm rebuilding the motor soon and I didn't want the existing motor miles on the odometer. So is that the problem?
     
  4. AHHVTEC

    AHHVTEC Well-Known Member VIP

    Messages:
    13,122
    Likes Received:
    245
    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2006
    Location:
    Alabama
    yea the only way you should get that code is if the wires are not hooked up or the cable or if the vss is bad
     
  5. GlassHeadlights

    GlassHeadlights West West Yall

    Messages:
    4,066
    Likes Received:
    71
    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2007
    Location:
    Calgary, AB
    Which wires are you talking about? The reverse light wires? And where is the VSS? I actually don't have the cable or the reverse light wires hooked up. How can the computer detect the cable hooked up? I don't get it.
     
  6. AHHVTEC

    AHHVTEC Well-Known Member VIP

    Messages:
    13,122
    Likes Received:
    245
    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2006
    Location:
    Alabama
    well its on the back of the tranny toward the firewall, does your speedometer work
     
  7. GlassHeadlights

    GlassHeadlights West West Yall

    Messages:
    4,066
    Likes Received:
    71
    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2007
    Location:
    Calgary, AB
    Oh ok. I know where the cable connects on the transmission, I just didn't know what it was called. And no my spedometer doesn't work because I disconnected at the back of the cluster. I didn't want the prevous motors miles on the the 000,000 odometer that I reset.
     
  8. AHHVTEC

    AHHVTEC Well-Known Member VIP

    Messages:
    13,122
    Likes Received:
    245
    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2006
    Location:
    Alabama
    lol, yeah just fix all that to where the speedometer is working again and the code 17 should go away
     
  9. GlassHeadlights

    GlassHeadlights West West Yall

    Messages:
    4,066
    Likes Received:
    71
    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2007
    Location:
    Calgary, AB
    Its the simpilest things. Yeah ok. I won't connect it until I build my mini me so I can track the miles. I know its kinda dumb but I was bored. Anyway thanks, I would give you rep but I already gave some and it won't let me do it again.;)
     
  10. AHHVTEC

    AHHVTEC Well-Known Member VIP

    Messages:
    13,122
    Likes Received:
    245
    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2006
    Location:
    Alabama
Verification:
Draft saved Draft deleted

Share This Page