1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

code 23...knock sensor

Discussion in 'ECU's, Electronics, and Tuning' started by eg6sir, Sep 22, 2005.

  1. eg6sir

    eg6sir Supa Mod Moderator VIP

    Messages:
    21,703
    Likes Received:
    321
    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2005
    Location:
    661 BK CA
    ok i finally got it...it seems to be the knock sensor...two long flashes followed by 3 short ones...am i correct...where would this be located...how hard is it to change...
     
  2. reckedracing

    reckedracing TTIWWOP VIP

    Messages:
    21,057
    Likes Received:
    1,180
    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2002
    Location:
    NY
    what motor? in what car?

    did you do a swap?
     
  3. formby

    formby learning in progress

    Messages:
    5,735
    Likes Received:
    23
    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2003
    its on the back of the block
     
  4. eg6sir

    eg6sir Supa Mod Moderator VIP

    Messages:
    21,703
    Likes Received:
    321
    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2005
    Location:
    661 BK CA
    94 vx...sir2 b16a...usdm p30 and i'm not sure if its on the block...where would that be so i can take a look..
     
  5. formby

    formby learning in progress

    Messages:
    5,735
    Likes Received:
    23
    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2003
    WTF????
    why do you ask a question...then you get an answer....and you ask again
     
  6. pissedoffsol

    pissedoffsol RETIRED

    Messages:
    49,693
    Likes Received:
    53
    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2002
    Location:
    Retirement Home
    lol

    you need to run the wire. if you have a d-series in there before, your harness doesn't have it.

    its a single wire. run it from the sensor (back of block, green-ish usually) to the pinout in the ecu, which can be found in the reference section
     
  7. eg6sir

    eg6sir Supa Mod Moderator VIP

    Messages:
    21,703
    Likes Received:
    321
    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2005
    Location:
    661 BK CA

    i didnt ask the same question again....just had another one...alright...sorry bout that...i thought these were supposed to be helpful forums, guess not....well so far it has until you posted...
     
  8. eg6sir

    eg6sir Supa Mod Moderator VIP

    Messages:
    21,703
    Likes Received:
    321
    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2005
    Location:
    661 BK CA

    it should ...it had the vtec motor in it before the swap...the 1.5 vtec i think..i dont know the fuel efficient one
     
  9. reckedracing

    reckedracing TTIWWOP VIP

    Messages:
    21,057
    Likes Received:
    1,180
    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2002
    Location:
    NY
    d series with a knock sensor??? :blink:

    you need to wire your knock sensor up...

    see if there is a wire going to the pinout, if there is then see if its connected to the sensor..
     
  10. eg6sir

    eg6sir Supa Mod Moderator VIP

    Messages:
    21,703
    Likes Received:
    321
    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2005
    Location:
    661 BK CA
    i was just wondering where on the back of the block...i cant see in there really...will i have to remove the intake mani. to get to it...if so, i'll wait because i have to change it anyways..

    yea there is a wire going to the pinout but its not green... d03 right? on obd1
     
  11. pissedoffsol

    pissedoffsol RETIRED

    Messages:
    49,693
    Likes Received:
    53
    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2002
    Location:
    Retirement Home
    d-series don't have them. no eg civics have a knock sensor wire ran in their harness stock.
     
  12. Estorvito

    Estorvito Soy Boricua

    Messages:
    2,036
    Likes Received:
    4
    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2004
    Location:
    Orlando FL
    I dont know about the D series but for the b18c1 engines, its right above the oil filter.. i took a couple of pics for ya....

    If in not mistaken its a green plug with a single wire..

    Hope this helps....

    KNock sensor 1st pic

    Knock sensor pic #2
    Notice the oil filter on the pics....
     
  13. pissedoffsol

    pissedoffsol RETIRED

    Messages:
    49,693
    Likes Received:
    53
    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2002
    Location:
    Retirement Home
    there is no d-series knock sensor :)
     
  14. Estorvito

    Estorvito Soy Boricua

    Messages:
    2,036
    Likes Received:
    4
    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2004
    Location:
    Orlando FL


    ^^^ o yeahh....Hes right.....there is none....
     
  15. eg6sir

    eg6sir Supa Mod Moderator VIP

    Messages:
    21,703
    Likes Received:
    321
    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2005
    Location:
    661 BK CA
    i have a b16a sir2 in my car...so would that be in the same spot....im gonna go look
     
  16. eg6sir

    eg6sir Supa Mod Moderator VIP

    Messages:
    21,703
    Likes Received:
    321
    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2005
    Location:
    661 BK CA
    nope its not wired in..so how would i do that...could i do it myself or should i take it to get it done???
     
  17. Estorvito

    Estorvito Soy Boricua

    Messages:
    2,036
    Likes Received:
    4
    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2004
    Location:
    Orlando FL


    :search:

    Here the link.....Hope it helps..It did for me.... :p
     
  18. eg6sir

    eg6sir Supa Mod Moderator VIP

    Messages:
    21,703
    Likes Received:
    321
    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2005
    Location:
    661 BK CA
    wow...all that is gibberish to me...maybe i should take it some where....i dont even know where to begin with all those wires...any suggestions ...the wire that goes to my ecu is blue with a yellow stripe..so would i just follow that..i think it will be alot easier when i have my intake mani. off....right?
     
  19. pissedoffsol

    pissedoffsol RETIRED

    Messages:
    49,693
    Likes Received:
    53
    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2002
    Location:
    Retirement Home
    are you serious? you can't snake a wire through and plug it on in the proper spots on either end?
     
  20. eg6sir

    eg6sir Supa Mod Moderator VIP

    Messages:
    21,703
    Likes Received:
    321
    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2005
    Location:
    661 BK CA

    there is a blue/yellow wire in the d03 spot, you know where the knock sensor wire is supposed to be...me + wiring = no good...i just dont wannna fuck anything up
     
Verification:
Draft saved Draft deleted

Share This Page