1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

compression ratio?

Discussion in 'Engine Building' started by Ignorant import guy, Jul 9, 2006.

  1. Ignorant import guy

    Ignorant import guy Senior Member

    Messages:
    298
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2006
    what's a good higher compression ratio for an n/a d16y8....maybe buying pistons open to suggestions
     
  2. K2e2vin

    K2e2vin Senior Member

    Messages:
    8,446
    Likes Received:
    92
    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2003
    Location:
    Raleigh, NC
    P29/PM7 pistons will work great: With a non-VTEC headgasket(A6,B2,B7), the ratio is about 12.21:1
     
  3. phunky.buddha

    phunky.buddha Admin with a big stick Admin VIP

    Messages:
    28,465
    Likes Received:
    228
    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2002
    Location:
    Dallas / Fort Worth, TX
    Yup. That's a good way to go. With the VTEC head gasket you'll be at about 12.6:1. That's the compression ratio I would want to run. Drop a Crower stage 3 cam on top of that and you'll have tons of fun.
     
  4. Ignorant import guy

    Ignorant import guy Senior Member

    Messages:
    298
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2006
    will they fit without a bore? with the same rods?
     
  5. phunky.buddha

    phunky.buddha Admin with a big stick Admin VIP

    Messages:
    28,465
    Likes Received:
    228
    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2002
    Location:
    Dallas / Fort Worth, TX
    Yup, same bore, same rods. You'll want to check to make sure your piston to wall clearances are in spec though.
     
  6. Ignorant import guy

    Ignorant import guy Senior Member

    Messages:
    298
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2006
    i'm not real inclined to the termanology for pistons...other people do my work for me...how exactly do you che the wall clearances?
     
  7. phunky.buddha

    phunky.buddha Admin with a big stick Admin VIP

    Messages:
    28,465
    Likes Received:
    228
    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2002
    Location:
    Dallas / Fort Worth, TX
  8. reikoshea

    reikoshea HS Troll...And Mod Moderator VIP

    Messages:
    12,633
    Likes Received:
    193
    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2005
    Location:
    San Antonio, TX
    if you have an engine builder (since your not too familiar with that), they should do it as part of the build. Its just one of those standard things that most people in their garage fail to do....basically just check all clearances and make sure they are all to spec.
     
  9. phunky.buddha

    phunky.buddha Admin with a big stick Admin VIP

    Messages:
    28,465
    Likes Received:
    228
    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2002
    Location:
    Dallas / Fort Worth, TX
    The machine shop usually checks it for you when they match bore your block to your pistons- at least that's the right way to do it.
     
  10. Ignorant import guy

    Ignorant import guy Senior Member

    Messages:
    298
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2006
    i thought no boring was involved...or is that just boring for the oil?
     
  11. phunky.buddha

    phunky.buddha Admin with a big stick Admin VIP

    Messages:
    28,465
    Likes Received:
    228
    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2002
    Location:
    Dallas / Fort Worth, TX
    No boring to remove large amounts of material- but you should always have a good machine shop match the bores of the cylinders to the pistons. That way your piston to wall clearances are always in spec. It's much easier to do when you go one size up from your current sleeve bore size, but it is still doable with a new set of pistons running the stock bore size.
     
Verification:
Draft saved Draft deleted

Share This Page