1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Computer Network help

Discussion in 'Members' Lounge' started by CRX-YEM, Oct 2, 2003.

  1. CRX-YEM

    CRX-YEM Super Moderator Moderator VIP

    Messages:
    4,623
    Likes Received:
    54
    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2002
    Location:
    Wallingford, CT
    I just picked up two Linksys BEFVP41 VPN routers
    I've set them up, the router create a vpn tunnel between them.

    Home Network
    WAN 68.9.212.x
    Lan 192.168.0.x
    sub 255.255.255.0

    Work Network
    Wan 64.252.63.x
    LAn 192.168.0.x
    sub 255.255.255.0

    So I should be able to ping an ip on the home lan
    for example 192.168.0.231
    I get nothing.

    I've created lmhosts, hosts files
    so the computer name resolves to an IP etc..

    it just doesn't seem like the VPN is actually working beyond the fact that the router is saying it is connected.

    any ideas guys???
     
  2. phunky.buddha

    phunky.buddha Admin with a big stick Admin VIP

    Messages:
    28,465
    Likes Received:
    228
    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2002
    Location:
    Dallas / Fort Worth, TX
    Set up the computer at home as the "DMZ Host" as Linksys likes to call it, or punch the VPN port straight through the router to your VPN machine via port mapping?

    Dunno
     
  3. B16

    B16 Super Moderator VIP

    Messages:
    11,539
    Likes Received:
    534
    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2002
    Location:
    yay area, CA
    well VPN protocol is pptp which rides on TCP port 1723
    is this vpn device behind your firewall? if so, you need to forward that port to it. but you're saying the routers think they are connected?
     
  4. CRX-YEM

    CRX-YEM Super Moderator Moderator VIP

    Messages:
    4,623
    Likes Received:
    54
    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2002
    Location:
    Wallingford, CT
    the router is the VPN device
     
  5. CRX-YEM

    CRX-YEM Super Moderator Moderator VIP

    Messages:
    4,623
    Likes Received:
    54
    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2002
    Location:
    Wallingford, CT
    I am a network GOD
    I just set up a VPN from my home to work
    woo hoooooo
     
  6. phunky.buddha

    phunky.buddha Admin with a big stick Admin VIP

    Messages:
    28,465
    Likes Received:
    228
    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2002
    Location:
    Dallas / Fort Worth, TX
  7. CRX-YEM

    CRX-YEM Super Moderator Moderator VIP

    Messages:
    4,623
    Likes Received:
    54
    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2002
    Location:
    Wallingford, CT
    for those interested it was a setting on the router I didn't set up correctly.

    I was choosing to limit my local and remote groups by IP addy, when I should of allowed a subnet to connect to each other. but all in all it works. Now all I need is a faster upload on my cable moden and on the DSL at work.
     
  8. jamesA

    jamesA Well known pissed off telephone guy VIP

    Messages:
    16,129
    Likes Received:
    1,020
    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2003
    :unsure:

    I plugged my DLink router right in and it works fine. :p

    but it's usually just my computer that's on anyway, but I do let my mom use my cable...for free...
     
Verification:
Draft saved Draft deleted

Share This Page