1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Computer Question...

Discussion in 'Members' Lounge' started by Liquidblaze, Jan 29, 2003.

  1. Liquidblaze

    Liquidblaze Senior Member

    Messages:
    433
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2002
    Location:
    Huntsville, AL USA
    I just built an AMD Duron 1.3GHz with 128mb of ram, Asus motherboard. I have set all my jumpers correctly but I can get nothing to come up on the monitor, it just says "no signal". I have put in 2 other AGP cards and one PCI graphics card, nothing works. I know I am getting enough power. The computer starts fine, it powers up, all the fans work. If you need any other info let me know.

    AMD Duron 1.3GHz
    ASUS A7V266-C Motherboard (Socket A)
    128 MB RAM
    Rage 128 pro 32mb AGP graphics card
    AOpen 56k Modem
    Linksys 10/100 Ethernet Card
    Extra USB PCI Card
    Floppy
    DVD-ROM
    CD-R/CD-RW
    20GB Hard Drive (No Operating System Yet because of the problem I am having, but installing Win2K)


    Can anyone help?
     
  2. NONJDMHATCH

    NONJDMHATCH Junior Member

    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2002
    Location:
    currently Germany soon to be South carolina
    Hey man after the military movers shipped my stuff to Germany my computer was doing the same thing...Turns out the graphics card had came unseated from the motherboard..I just rammed it down in there and it fixed it...
     
  3. xj0hnx

    xj0hnx I wanna be sedated VIP

    Messages:
    14,172
    Likes Received:
    48
    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2002
    Location:
    C.C.TX.

    Sorry to get off topic,but where are you at?
     
  4. NONJDMHATCH

    NONJDMHATCH Junior Member

    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2002
    Location:
    currently Germany soon to be South carolina
    I'm stationed at ramstein air base in germany... I leave here in april to go to charleston, sc...Can't wait to get back to the real world and to my car :D
     
  5. phunky.buddha

    phunky.buddha Admin with a big stick Admin VIP

    Messages:
    28,465
    Likes Received:
    228
    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2002
    Location:
    Dallas / Fort Worth, TX
    Take out and unplug everything that you don't need to boot- then make sure that everything else is firmly seated. Check the heatsink on the CPU to be sure that it's mounted correctly, and has some heatsink grease in between it and the CPU. Fire it up, start adding components back in one by one. Troubleshoot away...
     
  6. Liquidblaze

    Liquidblaze Senior Member

    Messages:
    433
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2002
    Location:
    Huntsville, AL USA

    i have done that, everything is seated fine. I took everything out except for cpu, ram, & graphics card, still nothing. I have used other graphics cards, still nothing, do you think the motherboard could be defective.

    The heatsink grease is fine, plenty of it. I am so clueless, this has never happened to me before.

    -chris
     
  7. beau_safken

    beau_safken Senior Member

    Messages:
    407
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2003
    Location:
    Seattle, Washington
    Lets put it this way...there are a couple issues that may be the problem. If for any reason your heatsink would have come off or loose your CPU would be dead in less than 2 seconds...No shit. What it seems like is your ram is unseated. Another thing may be that your extra USB PCI card is interfering with the motherboards ability to use its specific USB's. ASUS boards are known for this problem so my advice is DITCH the USB PCI card. There is no reason for one unless you don't have any on your motherboard to start with. Another would be to take out every card except your display card and try to boot. If it won't boot, go to the on-board card. Try that if everything is still messing up than post again and tell me exactly what happens when you attempt to turn on your computer. My guess is your RAM is screwed if its seated correctly. Do you have another stick of RAM anywhere? Or that the USB PCI card is screwing with your motherboard.
     
  8. slohnda

    slohnda Senior Member

    Messages:
    532
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2002
    Location:
    Sierra Vista, AZ
    sounds like something is grounding out somewhere..
     
  9. mdlax1

    mdlax1 Senior Member

    Messages:
    936
    Likes Received:
    1
    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2003
    Location:
    On the Proverbial picked fence of Insanity....
    He said he tried 2 diff cards so the card's prob not burnt. Please tell me you checked your monitor connection. Recheck your jumpers. What about cmos side drivers for the card. Did you check the monitor on another computer. Try another monitor completely. Make sure in cmos you dont have the the mother boards default monitor slot set as default and not your card... and please make sure you have the plug in the card and not the mother board.. try that.
     
  10. pissedoffsol

    pissedoffsol RETIRED

    Messages:
    49,693
    Likes Received:
    54
    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2002
    Location:
    Retirement Home
    a vdeo card is a critical device. if it was bad or not seated, the bios would "beep" during POST.
    its not the card.

    try a different monitor.
     
  11. Liquidblaze

    Liquidblaze Senior Member

    Messages:
    433
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2002
    Location:
    Huntsville, AL USA

    I have taken out all cards including the usb. The Asus motherboard does have on board usb and it still doesn't work. All the jumpers are set right. I even put it in JumperFree mode, and set my DIP switch to JumperFree mode also. My ram is seated perfectly and i have checked the computer on all three of my monitors. I can't even get a picture to get into my BIOS.

    FYI, When i first even started the computer, it booted directly to the bios and then it hung. I restarted the computer and all this shit happened. Do you think the I could have burnt out the CPU, but I can here everything working. Just no video! I am so clueless.

    Also, no beeping during power up! And the internal speaker is plugged up correctly!

    Hondaswap is awesome, you can talk about hondas and get tech support! Hondaswap ownz :worthy: !
     
  12. asmallsol

    asmallsol Super Moderator

    Messages:
    8,074
    Likes Received:
    3
    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2002
    Location:
    Houghton/Livonia Michigan
    you cant even get tech support from microsoft and if you do it cost you $3 a min. that is the price of those porno lines wtf?!?

    Yea i would say go with the easiest route and check if the monitor is good, go over to a naighbors, steal his for a second or bring yours over their. If it works over there, you know it is a problem with the computer, doesn't work, your driving up to best buy for a new monitor.
     
  13. mdlax1

    mdlax1 Senior Member

    Messages:
    936
    Likes Received:
    1
    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2003
    Location:
    On the Proverbial picked fence of Insanity....
    i would call asus tech support.. thats what kinda board i have and i never ever had any problems with it. Try pulling all the parts off cpu everything.. rebuild it physically see what happens.
     
  14. WetWilly

    WetWilly Senior Member

    Messages:
    230
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2002
    Location:
    California
    You should check out the amd site they have a lot of stuff in their forums about everything
     
  15. Capt. Orygun

    Capt. Orygun Win the Day

    Messages:
    7,180
    Likes Received:
    121
    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2002
    Location:
    Oregon

    don't be so happy, working at a CONUS base is the worst experience of my AF carrer. Oh coarse I'm at Dyess, that might have something to do with it. I still would rather be overseas while I'm in the military, I have the rest of my life to live in the US.
     
  16. phunky.buddha

    phunky.buddha Admin with a big stick Admin VIP

    Messages:
    28,465
    Likes Received:
    228
    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2002
    Location:
    Dallas / Fort Worth, TX
    Hmmm now it sounds to me like it's a dead board or a dead chip- if you're not getting any POST information or a beep at all.
     
  17. mdlax1

    mdlax1 Senior Member

    Messages:
    936
    Likes Received:
    1
    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2003
    Location:
    On the Proverbial picked fence of Insanity....

    AKA a large cooking pan cooling tray.
     
  18. beau_safken

    beau_safken Senior Member

    Messages:
    407
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2003
    Location:
    Seattle, Washington
    I'm gonna agree with Calesta. I think you could have a dead board. Go to this website first thou

    Overclockers Home Page

    If you need any help at all with ANY computer crap ever these guys are great. Just use the search function with the motherboard code and you'll get lots of thread if not ask. I'm an active member over there so I can vouch for the quality of that computer forum.
     
  19. Liquidblaze

    Liquidblaze Senior Member

    Messages:
    433
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2002
    Location:
    Huntsville, AL USA

    Dead Link!
     
  20. phunky.buddha

    phunky.buddha Admin with a big stick Admin VIP

    Messages:
    28,465
    Likes Received:
    228
    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2002
    Location:
    Dallas / Fort Worth, TX

    It works. That site is always up.
     
Verification:
Draft saved Draft deleted

Share This Page