1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

confused? d16y8 on d16

Discussion in 'HYBRID -> ED-EF / DA' started by cardinalboy07, Jul 20, 2011.

  1. cardinalboy07

    cardinalboy07 New Member

    Messages:
    38
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2008
    ok im tryna do a mini me swap i have a stock 90 ef and want to put a vtec head on it...the vhead i wanna use is y8 head but its odb2

    are there any wiring issues i shuld be concerned about? can i use the dizzy from the ef?
    what other parts do i need other then the y8 head...gasket..ecu..
    oh and the dpfi to mpfi is done already
    i seen alot of write ups buh none tht answer my ?'s

    help me out plz
     
  2. jlicrx

    jlicrx Senior Member

    Messages:
    1,891
    Likes Received:
    65
    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2003
    Location:
    Colorado Springs
    in order for the VTEC to work correctly, you need to convert to OBD1 which means that you need an OBD1 distributor from 92-95 D15B7 engine, a P28 ECU from 92-95 Civic EX, an OBD0 to OBD1 ECU jumper harness and a jumper for the distributor (or you can rewire the distributor connector) - you will need a new head gasket and timing belt - you will need to remove the oil restrictor jet from the top of the block
     
  3. cardinalboy07

    cardinalboy07 New Member

    Messages:
    38
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2008
    ok does this also apply if i use a z6 head? ^^^
    and the dpfi to mpfi is tht not goin odb1? or i have 2 still wire dizzy?
    as for the timing belt do i use the one that goes with the head?
     
  4. D16SiHatch

    D16SiHatch New Member

    Messages:
    1,297
    Likes Received:
    44
    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2007
    converting to mpfi and converting to obd1 are two separate things. if you are already mpfi then you only need the ecu jumper/subharness and dizzy jumper as mentioned above. yes the same still applies if you use a z6 head.
     
  5. cardinalboy07

    cardinalboy07 New Member

    Messages:
    38
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2008
    Ok thanks a lot guys oh and can I jus wire the dizzy straight to the ecu?? And do pin swapping at the ecu
    Oh and also do I need a resistor box??
     
  6. D16SiHatch

    D16SiHatch New Member

    Messages:
    1,297
    Likes Received:
    44
    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2007
    why would you wire the distributor to the ecu? use the wires that are already in the distributor harness. use a jumper or cut off the plug and solder on the correct one. you can do that on either engine or dizzy side, makes no difference really. only need a resistor box if you are using peak/hold generally obd0 injectors. if using saturated obd1 injectors then you can delete the box.
     
  7. cardinalboy07

    cardinalboy07 New Member

    Messages:
    38
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2008
    oh cuz wen i did a b18 in a ef someone wired 2 dizzy wires 2 the ecu to convert 2 odb1 the swap ran fine and was doin 14 1/4 mile buh
     
  8. cardinalboy07

    cardinalboy07 New Member

    Messages:
    38
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2008
    and isnt there a way i can do the odb0 to odb1 without the jump harness when i did an ls swap i didnt use a tht......2 injectors wer wired to ecu and another 2 wires went to ecu from dizzy
     
  9. jlicrx

    jlicrx Senior Member

    Messages:
    1,891
    Likes Received:
    65
    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2003
    Location:
    Colorado Springs
    those are the wiring changes for converting from DPFI to MPFI - to convert from OBD0 to OBD1, you need the ECU jumper harness in order to plug in the OBD1 ECU which has different connectors and different ECU function pin locations from the OBD0 ECU - the OBD0 chassis harness won't plug into the OBD1 ECU - you also need the OBD0 to OBD1 distributor jumper because the connectors on the OBD1 distributor and the OBD0 engine harness don't match - you could rewire the distributor connectors instead of using the jumper
     
    Last edited: Jul 22, 2011
  10. cardinalboy07

    cardinalboy07 New Member

    Messages:
    38
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2008
    Thanks!! U ansered er thing buh another question I'm using the odb2 injectores...I know tht I don't need the resistorbox...so how wuld I wire up the other wires..the ons tht wuld go in the res box? Cuz 2 injects goto harnes n other 2 to ecu wat do I do with the ones dat go no we're
     
  11. cardinalboy07

    cardinalboy07 New Member

    Messages:
    38
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2008
    Hey I'm doin. A y8 on a6 swap I'm using the y8 top end intake+injectos...now. I'm using a z6 dizzy which is odb1and odb1 p28ecu....my question is the dpfi to mpfi since I'm using odb2 injectors idon't need the res box rite? Buh how do I wire them? Do I do same steps at ecu wen wire injectors by running the 2 extra wires for inject #3 #4 ? We're do the wires tht wuld go into a res box go if I we're using odb1 injectors go?
    Do I jus follow all the steps for dpfi to mpfi up to res box? Alson if I do this do I need the jump harness for odb0 to odb1?
     
  12. D16SiHatch

    D16SiHatch New Member

    Messages:
    1,297
    Likes Received:
    44
    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2007
    you need the ecu jumper to run the p28, you don't need the dizzy adapter if you are hard wiring it or swapping plugs and soldering the wires yourself. the +12v wires that would go to the resistor all get soldered together. simple as that
     
  13. cardinalboy07

    cardinalboy07 New Member

    Messages:
    38
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2008
    Ok gud look I'm all set then so I can boost this yay only runnin 8pounds tho nthn fancy does anything need to be done 2 wireing wen I go boost? Is a chipped p28 better? Does the block have to be tapped for the oil lin to turbo? Or cani tap oil pan?
     
  14. D16SiHatch

    D16SiHatch New Member

    Messages:
    1,297
    Likes Received:
    44
    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2007
    If you are boosting it, and running larger injectors, you absolutely should have it tuned. block does not need to be tapped in the sense you are thinking, however you will need to do a t-fitting off the oil pressure sending unit so that you can get your feed line. i would recommend running some line off the block and then remote mount the T and the stock sensor somewhere nearby. the added weight of the sensor hanging further away from the block can end up cracking/breaking the threads at the oil output. You also have to tap the oil pan, but this is for your drain line, not for your feed line. If you are this unfamiliar with boosting a car, you might want to rethink doing so.
     
    Last edited: Jul 26, 2011
  15. cardinalboy07

    cardinalboy07 New Member

    Messages:
    38
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2008
    Na I. Deff wna go boost so if there is any thing else I need 2 know info wuld be well appreciate....n wat is (remote mount) and what sensor?
     
  16. cardinalboy07

    cardinalboy07 New Member

    Messages:
    38
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2008
    Does it matter if the distributor is vtec or not???!!!!
     
  17. Dj211855

    Dj211855 New Member

    Messages:
    191
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2011
    Damn.........................................................

    I really hope you know what your doing, if you can't do a head swap don't jump into anything else.

    READ THIS CAREFULLY: If you plan to turbo your y8, by swapping the head with a6 block, your setting at about 10.5cp, no big deal except it will take a experience tuner to tune this.

    Go get a y8 dizzy buy a jumper harness, Get a ecu convertion harness, get a chipped p28 or P06 that is already converted for vtec. YOur stock wiring harness will not have vtec, so add them in and run them to the ecu.

    Understand what I mean by your compression will be high? If you use a z6 head you will be at 12.5cp not reccomended on boost with stock internal.

    If you want to boost your 10.5cp I suggest to find yourself a tuner and talk with them.

    You really got to learn to do some SEARCHING!
     
  18. cardinalboy07

    cardinalboy07 New Member

    Messages:
    38
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2008
    its not tht i cant do the swap i cn do it jus wna do it right jud need 2 kno the wiring and vacum iv done b series swaps which r easy buh neva converted a d seris non v to vtec so yea ima lil lost but boosting i know iv done my research on tht
     
  19. cardinalboy07

    cardinalboy07 New Member

    Messages:
    38
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2008
    im doin this conversion but on my ecu clip slot b10 and b9 r empty not b12 it has a wire in it..what do i do?
    also im using odb2 injectors so there is no resistor box what do i do with the wires tht are suppose to go there?

    this is the set up
    d16y8 head and mani
    d16a6 block
    odb1 dizzy (92-95)
    odb0 to odb1 conversion harness
    odb2 injectors

    now correct me if im wrong a1,a3,a5,a7 are for injectors....
    c1,c2, is for dizzy crank positon sensor..
     
Verification:
Draft saved Draft deleted

Share This Page