1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Connection effecting VOIP?

Discussion in 'Computers, Games, Electronics etc' started by K2e2vin, Dec 15, 2005.

  1. K2e2vin

    K2e2vin Senior Member

    Messages:
    8,446
    Likes Received:
    92
    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2003
    Location:
    Raleigh, NC
    Just wondering, if you were downloading a bunch of stuff and have xbox live on; will it effect a VOIP services like Vonage?
     
  2. Drake

    Drake Well-Known Member VIP

    Messages:
    8,633
    Likes Received:
    420
    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2003
    I dont really see why that would screw up your phone. Unless you are caping your bandwidth. On a side note did you get this phone with your plan??

    http://www.vonage.com/device.php?type=IP8100

    Vtech y0
     
  3. brc80

    brc80 Senior Member

    Messages:
    1,613
    Likes Received:
    1
    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2002
    Location:
    Southern California
    Ive noticed that some times if im doing so heavy stuff online it will fuck with my phone.
     
  4. K2e2vin

    K2e2vin Senior Member

    Messages:
    8,446
    Likes Received:
    92
    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2003
    Location:
    Raleigh, NC
    No, I didnt get the Vtech phone. lol. I dont really like wireless. I dont know why, but I seem to always have trouble related to interference issues(even with the simple cordless phone). I got the plan with the simple Linksys Router/Adapter.

    In what way does it messes up your phone? Does the connection just drop or is it laggy, etc.?
     
  5. 92civicb18b1

    92civicb18b1 The Trisexual

    Messages:
    8,859
    Likes Received:
    18
    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2003
    Location:
    The asshole of the USA, New Jersey
    Mine will actually drop the connection completely at times. Only if I have Azureus running and trying to a bunch of other internet related shit. It never seems laggy though.

    The phones are all fucked up in my house, so even if I were to have a regular service, it wouldn't work right, the house has some serious wiring probelms. I think one line going into the kitchen actually works. And only 2 work right now with the vonage, but that's because I didn't feel like routing all the extra laine.
     
  6. CRX-YEM

    CRX-YEM Super Moderator Moderator VIP

    Messages:
    4,623
    Likes Received:
    54
    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2002
    Location:
    Wallingford, CT

    which is exactly why I ditched vonage.

    if you use your internat connection for anything but the VOIP phone than the quality sucks.
    If I set up anything to d/l like music or movies. calls sucked ass.

    VOIP is not ready for primetime
     
  7. pissedoffsol

    pissedoffsol RETIRED

    Messages:
    49,693
    Likes Received:
    54
    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2002
    Location:
    Retirement Home
    voip is over rated.

    hell, home phones are over-rated.

    cell is my only phone i have in my house...
     
  8. K2e2vin

    K2e2vin Senior Member

    Messages:
    8,446
    Likes Received:
    92
    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2003
    Location:
    Raleigh, NC
    Well, its $10 cheaper than the current BellSouth bill. If its that bad we probably will switch back to a telephone-wire system...after it gets cheaper. Hopefully Vonage and the likes will cause regular phone bill costs to drop.

    Thanks for the replies!
     
  9. Celerity

    Celerity Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    21,969
    Likes Received:
    146
    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2003
    Reenable QoS packets on the network.
     
  10. CRX-YEM

    CRX-YEM Super Moderator Moderator VIP

    Messages:
    4,623
    Likes Received:
    54
    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2002
    Location:
    Wallingford, CT

    been there done that. tried using QoS on my router, on my pc, various configes there of and still the same shitty service. My cable modem has an upload of about 1Mbps. so it shouldn't of been a problem
     
  11. phunky.buddha

    phunky.buddha Admin with a big stick Admin VIP

    Messages:
    28,465
    Likes Received:
    228
    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2002
    Location:
    Dallas / Fort Worth, TX
    I don't have any problems with mine. My router gives priority to the VOIP device, so my transfer rates usually just drop about 10kB/s and that's it. The data stream doesn't "hurt" the sound quality of the Vonage line, even when I'm completely maxed out on bandwisth.
     
  12. CRX-YEM

    CRX-YEM Super Moderator Moderator VIP

    Messages:
    4,623
    Likes Received:
    54
    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2002
    Location:
    Wallingford, CT
    I had everything set up the same way , and if I was d/l anything you'd hear a clicking noise on the line and a lot of echoing
     
  13. Celerity

    Celerity Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    21,969
    Likes Received:
    146
    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2003
    My dad lives in the middle of the woods on a dirt road off another dirt road in Newtown CT (About as Rural as CT gets) and his vonage box operates very well even with multiple downloads going.

    He's just got the out of the box setup on it.

    -> Steve
     
Verification:
Draft saved Draft deleted

Share This Page